cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line fault or need new router?

VictoriaIceni
Grafter
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Registered: 29-01-2011

Line fault or need new router?

I'm not very technical and half the things on this forum I don't understand a word of, but I'll try to explain my issue. Hoping for an easy to understand answer.  Smiley
The past couple of days I've had a lot of drop outs with on screen messages telling me that my DSL is down. It comes back again but the night before last it must have happened about 20 times. It was after 11pm to about 12.30am.  I restarted my router wirelessly a couple of times and it still kept dropping afterwards.
I mainly use my router wirelessly so late at night I wasn't near the router to see if the lights had changed. I'm also disabled so I'm unable to keep going up and downstairs to check the lights.
I did a few internet searches for help and found the events log section for my router and monitored it all during use yesterday.  I changed the filter for a new one on my phone line and all during the day until 1am this morning I had no drops in service. However this afternoon when I first got online I checked the events log and several times during the night and this morning the DSL was down again before righting itself each time. I've seen no change to the lights when I've been downstairs this morning and when I pick up any of the phones in the house there is no crackling or buzzing on the line, even on the cheaper extension phones upstairs. And there has been no problem with the phone. (I'm with BT for the phone)
Although there were no drops during the day yesterday the speed of my broadband seemed a bit sluggish. A speed test showed me a ping of 39, nearly 8Mb download and just over 1Mb upload. Before this problem I was getting up to 9-18Mb download speed.
My router is a TG585v7 and is the original one I had from Plusnet back in 2010. Could it be the router finally giving up on me, or is there a fault on my line? I don't have another router to try. If I need a new router can I get one through Plusnet? I really don't know a lot about computers or the language and it would be simpler for me to have a router set up by Plusnet even if I have to pay for it.
Seeing other similar posts I'll show the results from my events log today and the DSL info page even though I don't understand much of it:
Info Jan 9 12:18:51 CONFIGURATION saved by TR69
Info Jan 9 12:18:38 FIREWALL event (1 of 2): deleted rules
Warning Jan 9 12:18:36 PPP link up (Internet) [80.229.118.89]
Info Jan 9 12:18:35 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok
Info Jan 9 12:18:35 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PCL-AG03)
Info Jan 9 12:18:35 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red7.pe)
Info Jan 9 12:18:32 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 21297 kbit/s, upstream: 1276 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.0 dBm, Up: 12.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 15.0 dB, Up: 9.0 dB; snr Margin Down: 3.5 dB, Up: 8.0 dB)
Warning Jan 9 12:18:10 PPP link down (Internet) [91.125.34.104]
Info Jan 9 12:18:07 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 12:17:28 FIREWALL event (1 of 2): created rules
Info Jan 9 12:17:28 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 11:38:49 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.6.10
Info Jan 9 10:38:49 SNTP Synchronised to server: 212.159.6.10
Info Jan 9 09:38:48 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.6.9
Warning Jan 9 09:35:36 IDS proto parser : tcp null port (1 of 1) : 113.108.21.16 91.125.34.104 0040 TCP 12205->0 [S.....] seq 1421124353 win 8192
Info Jan 9 08:38:48 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.6.9
Info Jan 9 08:22:44 CONFIGURATION saved by TR69
Warning Jan 9 08:22:23 PPP link up (Internet) [91.125.34.104]
Info Jan 9 08:22:22 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok
Info Jan 9 08:22:21 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PTN-AG02)
Info Jan 9 08:22:20 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red7.pe)
Warning Jan 9 08:22:04 PPP link down (Internet) [146.90.23.184]
Info Jan 9 08:22:01 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules
Info Jan 9 08:22:00 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 21222 kbit/s, upstream: 1276 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.0 dBm, Up: 12.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 15.0 dB, Up: 9.0 dB; snr Margin Down: 3.5 dB, Up: 8.0 dB)
Info Jan 9 08:21:33 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 08:21:09 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): created rules
Info Jan 9 08:21:09 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 08:08:30 CONFIGURATION saved by TR69
Info Jan 9 08:08:17 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules
Warning Jan 9 08:08:14 PPP link up (Internet) [146.90.23.184]
Info Jan 9 08:08:13 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok
Info Jan 9 08:08:13 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PTW-AG01)
Info Jan 9 08:08:13 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red7.pe)
Info Jan 9 08:08:07 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 21200 kbit/s, upstream: 1276 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.0 dBm, Up: 12.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 15.0 dB, Up: 9.0 dB; snr Margin Down: 3.5 dB, Up: 7.0 dB)
Warning Jan 9 08:07:56 PPP link down (Internet) [46.208.209.55]
Info Jan 9 08:07:42 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 08:07:17 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): created rules
Info Jan 9 08:07:17 xDSL linestate down
Info Jan 9 07:58:42 CONFIGURATION saved by TR69
Info Jan 9 07:58:29 FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 1:17:26
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,276 / 21,297
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 3.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 9.0 / 15.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7.0 / 4.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 11 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 158 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 58,428
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Line fault or need new router?

When you use the phone is there any background noise that has started recently? If there is a problem with the phone (probably caused by the recent bad weather) it will affect the broadband.
Dial 17070 and use option 2 for the quiet line test.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,488
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Line fault or need new router?

@jelv
Quote
when I pick up any of the phones in the house there is no crackling or buzzing on the line

@VictoriaIceni
I've just been running some diagnostics and can't see any obvious issues. Trying another router would be the best way to try and rule out that being the cause of the problem. Further to that a fault can be raised at http://faults.plus.net but do bear in mind charges can be levied if an engineer visits and it is found to be due to the router.
Quote
If I need a new router can I get one through Plusnet?

Absolutely, we can provide you with a Technicolor TG582n for a £5.99 postage and packing fee, if you were to cancel within 12 months we would ask for a payment of £40, other than that it's free.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Line fault or need new router?

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
@jelv
Quote
when I pick up any of the phones in the house there is no crackling or buzzing on the line

Oops! Embarrassed
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
VictoriaIceni
Grafter
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Registered: 29-01-2011

Re: Line fault or need new router?

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
@jelv
Quote
when I pick up any of the phones in the house there is no crackling or buzzing on the line

@VictoriaIceni
I've just been running some diagnostics and can't see any obvious issues. Trying another router would be the best way to try and rule out that being the cause of the problem. Further to that a fault can be raised at http://faults.plus.net but do bear in mind charges can be levied if an engineer visits and it is found to be due to the router.
Quote
If I need a new router can I get one through Plusnet?

Absolutely, we can provide you with a Technicolor TG582n for a £5.99 postage and packing fee, if you were to cancel within 12 months we would ask for a payment of £40, other than that it's free.

Thanks Adam.
I'd like to try a new router please. Mine is over 3 years old so I assume it might be the problem. And obviously if that doesn't solve it then I'll look into other faults. I'm happy to try each simple thing first. Can you place an order for a new router from here, or do you need me to phone your customer support line? I assume the £5.99 postage can be added to my monthly subscription...if so, please go ahead and place an order for me.
Thanks for your fast reply.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,488
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Line fault or need new router?

Quote
I assume the £5.99 postage can be added to my monthly subscription

Hi, we have to that as a one-off payment from a debit or credit card. We'd need to speak with you briefly to take the details, for added security we also have to take the CCV (last 3 digits on the signature strip) for each transaction.
With that in mind I'm happy to give you a call, want to drop me a PM with the best number and if you're free for that before 5.30 or between 9 and 4 tomorrow?
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
VictoriaIceni
Grafter
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Registered: 29-01-2011

Re: Line fault or need new router?

I have a couple of appointments tomorrow, and rarely have a mobile phone switched on when I'm out, so it's probably better that I phone your customer service number myself when I'm able to. I'll mention my post here when I do.
Thanks again, Adam.