cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

dvvrue95
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: 17-08-2007

Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Router stats :-
Line Mode ADSL2   Line State Show Time
Line Power State L0   Line Up Time 00:04:02:08
Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 21

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 1472 Kbps 656 Kbps
Noise Margin 8.4 dB 5.6 dB
Line Attenuation 64.0 dB 38.8 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 12.9 dBm
Any comments, do these look "normal" cheers, Ian
9 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Not bad at all for such a long line Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Considerably better than you were getting on ADSL1. I'm a bit concerned about that Line Up Count though and I'm a bit surprised that the SNRM is running at 8.4dB after 4 hours in daytime. Have you been doing lots of reboots? This could push up the Target SNRM with the resultant slower speed. If the line is good you should be able to go a bit faster and get nearer to a 1.5Mbps IP profile.
You may want to consider capping the Upstream to 448 if you don't need the upload speed as some users have reported instability with an uncapped upstream.
If you need to Resync, Reboot, swap anything about that involves loss of sync, stick to doing it in daytime for the moment and whenever, always use the following procedure - Login to the modem/router interface, Disconnect the Internet "ppp" session - wait until it shows Disconnected and then power down the modem/router - wait about a minute before disconnecting from the Line. Wait for about at least 10 minutes before connecting to the line and powering up again, swapping anything you want to in the interval.
(If you want to change modem/router settings, do so whilst it is disconnected from the line).
dvvrue95
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: 17-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Thanks for the feedback, unfortunately I lost my BB line completely at 17:00 hrs tonight , only way I could get it back was by making a voice call - but not sure how long it will stay up. (I didn't want to risk power cycling the router)
My PN profile indicates 0.5M  Angry but my router stats and BT speed test results (current) don't seem to match.
ROUTER STATS AT 19:25
Line Mode ADSL2   Line State Show Time
Line Power State L0   Line Up Time 00:00:05:22
Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 24

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 1520 Kbps 648 Kbps
Noise Margin 6.3 dB 6.2 dB
Line Attenuation 65.5 dB 38.7 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 12.8 dBm
MSGC (number in overhead channel data) 11 12
B (number of bytes in Mux Frame) 190 40
M (number of Mux Frames in FEC Frame) 1 2
T (Mux Frames over sync bytes) 1 2
R (number of check bytes in FEC Frame) 16 12
S (ratio of FEC over PMD Frame length) 4.0000 4.0000
L (number of bits in PMD Frame) 414 188
D (interleaver depth) 8 8
Delay 8 msec 8 msec
Super Frames 18938  18936 
Super Frame Errors 7  42 
RS Words 321950  643824 
RS Correctable Errors 865  89 
RS Uncorrectable Errors 41  0 
HEC Errors 7  0 
OCD Errors 0  0 
LCD Errors 0  0 
ES Errors 0  0 

RESULTS OF BT SPEEDTEST
1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
0.43 Mbps

0 Mbps 2 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.43 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.8 Mbps-2 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 1.34 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.55 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.55Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
I'm supposed to be getting a visit from a BT engineer on Monday (21/05) to check the line so I am keen to eliminate everything else.
I am connected direct to the rear of the master socket, new adsl filter fitted , another router on its way but not arrived yet.
Any thoughts, Ian
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

You've got an intermittent line connection somewhere by the sound of it. Can you hear crackling noises when you use the Phone? Is the engineer coming because of a reported Phone fault or a Broadband fault?
Your Current Line speed at the member centre needs upping to match the BT one - that will sort out your very low speed. I notice Kelly is on-line, whether he's willing/able to adjust it I'm not sure.
Your Target SNRM looks to be 6dB still, so that OK.
dvvrue95
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: 17-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Hi Anotherone,
thanks for comments.
When I first lift the handset there is a little crackling, but not during the call if you understand me.
I am not exactly sure what BT engineer coming for, I had assumed it was to sort out the BB fault.
Still on-line at the moment  Shocked
Ian
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

I assume you have Phone and Broadband with Plusnet then? In which case make sure that the engineer knows that you've heard crackling on the line and that it is Internittent.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,269
Thanks: 577
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

I've tweaked the profile to 1.5Mb.  Not 100% that's right, but give your router a reboot and see if it helps?
*crosses fingers*  Lips are sealed
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

Thanks Kelly. Actually just logging into the modem/router and disconnecting the session and reconnecting it should be sufficient if experience is anything to go by.
dvvrue95
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: 17-08-2007

Re: Line changed to ADSL2 - how do these router stats look??

@ Kelly, thanks
seems to have improved things judging by BT SPEEDTEST :-
1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
1.22 Mbps

0 Mbps 2 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 1.22 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.8 Mbps-2 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 1.34 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.56 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.56Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
@Anotherone, yes BB and phone from PN. Modem adjusted by disconnect - connect
Lets see what tomorrow brings  Huh
Ian