cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line Reset needed plz

scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Line Reset needed plz

hi, my line as suddenly dropped from around 13mb-15mb to just 3mb,probably due to loggin into router and disconnecting, (i was assured this was ok and wouldnt have anymore trouble with this) appears to be back after a few months,  can i request a line reset please.
thanks
11 REPLIES
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

line test done 8.41am speeds still locked to around 3mb , any update on my line reset request please?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Line Reset needed plz

Hi there, we'd recommend leaving the router on usually (or if you do turn it off to disconnect via the router's web page first), have you been doing that?
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13760436818383.png"/>
I'm not sure resetting the SNR would retrain the line at a higher speed given the connections shown above. If you'd be willing to leave it on for three days or so though to allow the line to retrain properly it may well be worth it.
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

hi yes i was advised to log into router, and discconnect that way it worked fine for a few months without probs,it was more than likely the Monday (3 times logging out that triggered the drop in speed) can you request a line reset please as requested, many thanks
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Line Reset needed plz

The only reason I'm not happy to do so right now is that if dropping the connection like this has that effect on the line, it'll absolutely ruin any attempts to retrain. If you're happy to confirm that you'll leave the router on for the next week or so to allow the line to retrain then yes, I'll put it through, but if the connection is going to continue being dropped then as I said the retraining will not work properly and you'll end up with a lower speed.
Please let us know, thanks.
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

hi i was told that it would only kick in if 3 or more disconnects happen in which case it did on monday, this wont happen again as i will make sure not to disconnect more than 3 in a day, the retraining will work as i had this issue before when i shut pc off,i had a line reset and it was back to normal, but i was told to make sure to log into router to disconnect from now on as this will resolve the issue i had no problem since until the other day,  so again for the 3rd time i would like to request a line reset, can you let me know when this will be done please thank you
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Line Reset needed plz

Quote from: scoobydoo1
so again for the 3rd time i would like to request a line reset, can you let me know when this will be done please thank you

Right, as my warnings appear to be going nowhere I would like you to confirm one or the other of the following:
1) That you will leave the router on for the duration of the training period
2) If you don't leave the router on for the duration of the training period, and the line retrains at a slower speed than you're wanting, that you'll accept that speed as the best possible available on your line.
Once you have confirmed either 1) or 2) above, I will initiate the reset.
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

yes a line reset please, 2
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Line Reset needed plz

That's been requested, ref. 1-17029510353
I'll pop a ticket on your account so our support team are aware of the above. Hope the reset gets you the speeds you're after.
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

thank you
scoobydoo1
Grafter
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎23-03-2013

Re: Line Reset needed plz

just done a speed test and its back to as it should be now, thank you for your help
dick:green Image tags added.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Line Reset needed plz

Brilliant news, thanks for letting us know - hope it keeps up that way and that my warnings turn out to be paranoid blatherings Smiley