cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Limited Connectivity

blade4life
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 11-08-2013

Limited Connectivity

I have been a Plusnet Fibre Optic customer for 6-8 weeks now. Everything was working great, but in the last week I have been having a lot of connection drop outs.
I am running Windows 8  and it says the connection is "Limited". This problem usually resolves itself within a few minutes.
The problem really came to a head this morning when I could not get online for around 45 mins
Is there any fixes for this?
I wish I could offer more technical information, but I am a bit of newbie to this.
13 REPLIES
adagio
Grafter
Posts: 196
Registered: 03-04-2008

Re: Limited Connectivity

How is your computer connected to the router?
blade4life
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 11-08-2013

Re: Limited Connectivity

I am connected wirelessly
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

That's your problem. The PC is losing the connection with the router. How far away is the router, can you move it closer? When you see the problem is the microwave oven being used?
blade4life
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 11-08-2013

Re: Limited Connectivity

I'm not sure it is just down to the wireless. As everything in the house goes down I.e TV, sons xbox, phones etc. and as for something causing the interruption, I can't think of anything causing it, as it went down in the middle of the night when it was just me awake.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

please clarify the phones part - is that the voip phones or is it the normal phones
blade4life
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 11-08-2013

Re: Limited Connectivity

As in wifi on mobiles.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

Have you looked at the router log to see if it shows a PPP drop
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

Limited connectivity is when the device assign its own IP address because the router has not. You are losing the wifi connection
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

Looks like older microwaves can certainly interfere: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electromagnetic_interference_at_2.4_GHz#Microwave_oven
Perhaps try a different (newer) microwave and see if it makes any difference?
Pedro
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 16-05-2013

Re: Limited Connectivity

Wireless does not assign itself an IP address, you either are connected to an access point or you aren't.
In windows 8, the limited wireless icon means you are connected to the router, but there is no internet connectivity, i.e. like OldJim suggested, the connection dropped. I see this when I disconnect the PPP session manually or when wireless goes up after rebooting it and before it reconnects to +net.
The only way he'd see a 169. IP address, is if he had a NIC wired to something, assuming there is one on his windows 8 PC, as it would take over from the un-associated Wifi interface.
A look at his connection graph would probably end the speculation  Cheesy
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

Then I shall oblige - I hope these are all manual router reboots though...
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13763188013712.png"/>
blade4life
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 11-08-2013

Re: Limited Connectivity

Wow thats an interesting graph....... None of these are unecceasry manual reboots though. The only time I have restarted my router is when my connection drops out for an extended period.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Limited Connectivity

In that case, as there's no extended dropouts showing on that graph I suspect it is the wireless. Do any of the drops coincide with the times you weren't able to get connected? Also when you're having the connectivity issues do you see the Technicolor Gateway page or the browser's no connection page?