cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

lochryan100
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-03-2008

Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Hi guys been with plusnet for 12 days now and unfortunately not impressed with the speed i am getting.  I was with aol 2kbps and was getting it.  Now i am paying for upto 8kbps and not getting no where near it.  My next door neighbour is with plusnet and is getting 6.5k. How come i aint?
I have done various speed tests via plusnet and getting 700 to 800 kbps.
I have checked my exchange status and it is showing green and i am only half a mile from exchange the same as my next door neighbour.
Bt speed test results are; ip profile for line is 7150 kbps
                                              dsl connection rate 448 kbps up stream and 8128 kbps down
                                              actual ip throughout the test was 2917 kbps
I am seriosly thinking of trying another isp unless this can be sorted out asap. I was with aol for 5 years and got what i paid for.
Can you tweak it at your end?

cp:red Please do not post in all CAPS, see link:rules mod:end
33 REPLIES
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: JUST SWITCHED FROM AOL TO PLUSNET FOR HIGHER SPEED AND NOT GETTING IT

with your ip profile being that high and your actual download speed being that low compared to the bt profile it may be plus nets line profile is set lower this u can check at connection tab on the plus net portal and then go to high speed broadband.
or it could be that your tcp ect settings need tweaking on your computer but as iam using a vista machine they automataicly tweak these settings.
but im sure a plus net staff will reply with a better answer than mine.
u cant beat plus net for customer services.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

mod:note
Welcome to the forums, please can I ask you to take a few minutes to read the link:rules, especially the one about not posting in all CAPS.
Jonathan
aka Chilly
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,612
Thanks: 217
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

I had a speed issue some months ago and I was advised on the forum to go to:
http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks
and run the tweak test. I am using XP.
Once I ran the test I changed my MTU and RWIN settings to the recommended ones and this solved my problem.
To adjust the settings you need to download DRTCP from the site.
As already said by Scootie, this doesn't work with Vista.
dougrice
Rising Star
Posts: 217
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

I have had a speed issue and after reducing interference by disconnection the bell wire, I then tweaked RWIN using TCPoptimzer tools here. http://www.speedguide.net/
It does seem to have over optimized my upstream.
Some people have reported problems with over optimzation.
Doug
http://www.dougrice.plus.com/Erlangs/adsl.htm
BT are now fitting an NET5A which filters the bell wire as recommended in BT SIN 346. May be worth a call to BT.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Quote
Bt speed test results are; ip profile for line is 7150 kbps
                                              dsl connection rate 448 kbps up stream and 8128 kbps down
                                              actual ip throughout the test was 2917 kbps

Whose speed test was this, in the first mixed up moan if was that person,  has he a problem or not and is it just settling down?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

What does https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=stable_rate say?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
lochryan100
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-03-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

hi 7000kbps
cp:blue Full quote of preceding post removed. link:rules mod:end
lochryan100
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-03-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Quote from: pierre_pierre
Quote
Bt speed test results are; ip profile for line is 7150 kbps
                                               dsl connection rate 448 kbps up stream and 8128 kbps down
                                               actual ip throughout the test was 2917 kbps

Whose speed test was this, in the first mixed up moan if was that person,  has he a problem or not and is it just settling down?


BT speed tested  Sad
lochryan100
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-03-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Quote from: chillypenguin
Moderators Note.
Welcome to the forums, please can I ask you to take a few minutes to read the Forum Rules, especially the one about not posting in all CAPS.
Jonathan
aka Chilly
    Sorry!
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Quote
BT speed tested  Sad

yes but was it your machine or your mates
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Hi lochryan100,
Based on what you've written (it's a bit garbled to be honest) it looks like the problem is with your local PC network or router, not Plus Net.
Your connection would seem to be as good as your neighbours and you worked OK at 2Mb so it's quite likely the limitation is within your control.
Can you tell us:
1. What sort of modem/router you're using.
2. Are you connected to it by ethernet, USB or wireless?
3. What Operating System is your PC running?
4. What specification (roughly) is your PC?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,295
Thanks: 1,394
Fixes: 72
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

It's not unknown for Plusnet to have a customer on the wrong profile.
Have you raised a ticket to bring this to Plusnet's attention through the official route?

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
lochryan100
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-03-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Quote from: HPsauce
Hi lochryan100,
Based on what you've written (it's a bit garbled to be honest) it looks like the problem is with your local PC network or router, not Plus Net.
Your connection would seem to be as good as your neighbours and you worked OK at 2Mb so it's quite likely the limitation is within your control.
Can you tell us:
1. What sort of modem/router you're using.
2. Are you connected to it by ethernet, USB or wireless?
3. What Operating System is your PC running?
4. What specification (roughly) is your PC?

Hi hp thanks for your reply.I am no expert to say the least on computers.So please bear with me.
I have a netgear wireless router-DG834G V3
2.Windows XP
3.4 year old pc with 2.6 processor, 80 g harddrive and 1028 ram memory
thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Just switched from AOL to plusnet for higher speed and not getting it

Question 2?