cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

dancewav
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-03-2013

Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

couldnt get through to customer support , gave up after 45 mins of no answer.
my broadband has been ropey for the last 2 months , so not sure if this was just me ,
any way to find out ?Huh
Leighton buzzard area , Near Milton Keynes
thanks.
27 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,407
Thanks: 1,177
Fixes: 91
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Service status on it's way. You certainly weren't alone looking at our session graphing. Service Status on its way...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

I thought today is Wednesday 26th
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

@ Bob - Well done for putting the Twitter update, but someone at PN in support/operations should have noticed some 60,000 users disappeared from your network?
dancewav
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-03-2013

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Quote from: anniesboy
I thought today is Wednesday 26th

good god.. I cant get the day of the week right, thanks, subject corrected..
XTERMY
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 14-03-2013

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

I'm from MK and don't know exactly what time I have lost my telephone and fibre. I gothome around 7pm and already couldn't connect and also no line on my telephone. Still nothing working Sad
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,407
Thanks: 1,177
Fixes: 91
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Quote from: AndyH
@ Bob - Well done for putting the Twitter update, but someone at PN in support/operations should have noticed some 60,000 users disappeared from your network?

They did, our oncall engineers were notified pretty sharpish. Unfortunately it took us a while to get the status feed updated Undecided

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,382
Thanks: 5
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

I had two small outages this morning - one at around 00:30 and another at around 03:00
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

I had problems last evening, and now again this morning. I'm in the OL5 postcode area. I had a look at the event log in the router and there's a lot of red blobs with exclamation marks that say things like.....
FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 190.121.143.106 Dst ip: 87.113.184.169 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
EDIT. I was actually cut off while posting this reply.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Someone is pinging your router from Colombia - that's unlikely to be the cause of your disconnections.
Can you post your router stats (line attenuation/noise margin etc)?
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Not sure how to find Router Stats?
It's a Technicolor TG 582n.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Just had a hour outage (Thurs 27 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Quote from: Bob
They did, our oncall engineers were notified pretty sharpish. Unfortunately it took us a while to get the status feed updated Undecided

I think as soon as a major networking issue like that happens (even outside of office hours), one of the first things that should be done is that someone updates the status feed and puts something on Twitter. You could even have something like on the BBC News website (scrolling information) on your home page. Although your call centres would still be inundated, it would relieve the pressure on them a bit as some people will know there is a network problem and you're investigating.
I am pretty sure the last outage like this was very similar and nothing was communicated to customers for quite some time.
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

Are these what you refer to as Router Stats?
Uptime: 0 days, 14:40:08

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 9,093

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 37.69 / 928.40

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.9 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.7 / 40.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.5 / 6.3

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 35 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,235,129

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 60

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 615
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Just had a hour outage (Weds 26 March - 19.45 - 20.45) was it just me, MK area

They are indeed and you should ask for the upstream to be uncapped