cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

Hi my line activated today and i am very disappointed. My broadband gets fixed speed of 1MB and upload 228kbps and my Adsl mode is G-dmt instead of adsl2+. I am using netgear dgn2000.
I had chat with one of plus net customer support representative, first he kept saying that my line will fluctuate for 10 days then it will get stable, when i told him that my line does not fluctuate as i always get fixed broadband speed since line activated, finally he ran some tests and accepted that he also getting 1mb on his side. This also confirmed by checked bt availability check which showed my line rate fixed at 1mb.
Please fix this problem AS SOON AS POSSIBLE i was getting 7+MBDown and 1MBUP with previous provider and i was on ADSL2+.
This is nightmare sudden drop from 7mb to 1mb totally not acceptable.
Please fix the problem otherwise i have no choice leaving plus net.
257 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

I assume you were with an LLU provider previously, who were they?
What was the actual quoted speed you got from Plusnet that they said you should get?
Also can you check your Current Line speed (Login required) - can you post all the information there (except your phone number).
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

Talktalk and plus net quoted 5+mb before i signed up
jim:quote
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

current speed:
High-speed Broadband
Postcode:
Phone exchange:
ATTERCLIFFE
Estimated line speed:
4.0Mb (This may vary between 3Mb and 7Mb) - Checked on 2014-10-30 20:32:36
Current line speed:
7.15 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

I assume you have the TG582n modem/router - can you post the TG582n Full DSL stats - just do a copy and paste into a post.
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

Quote from: Anotherone
I assume you have the TG582n modem/router - can you post the TG582n Full DSL stats - just do a copy and paste into a post.

I hv dgn2000, its confirmed they capped my line to 1mb. check attached screen short in first post
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

They haven't capped your line, it has been incorrectly provisioned by BT Wholesale which may their error, or a Plusnet ordering error.
It was your DSL stats I wanted to see, I saw the screenshot.
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

It is fixed bb speed even customer support acknowledged that they getting 1mb also
jim:quote
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

Mode: G.DMT
Channel: Fast
Trellis: ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 28.2 22.0
Attn(dB): 56.0 26.5
Pwr(dBm): 18.4 11.8
Max(Kbps): 7232 992
Rate (Kbps): 1152 288
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

I've no idea why the BT checker is only showing fixed 1MB available - I was expecting to see really high attenuation, but 56 is in line with the 4Mb predicted.
Can you post the results from this version of the checker please: http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/ADSLChecker.AddressOutput
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

on Exchange ATTERCLIFFE is served by Cabinet 112
Featured Products
Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Downstream Range(Mbps)
Availability Date
ADSL Max Up to 4 -- 3 to 7 Available
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
For all ADSL and WBC Fibre to the Cabinet (FTTC) services, the stable line rate will be determined during the first 10 days of service usage.
Throughput/download speeds will be less than line rates and can be affected by a number of factors within and external to BT's network, Communication Providers' networks and within customer premises.
The Stop Sale date for Datastream is from 30-Jun-2012; the Formal Retirement date for Datastream is from 31-Mar-2014.
Note: Please note that postcode and address check results are indicative only. Most accurate results can be obtained from a telephone number check.
Thank you for your interest.
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 1152 kbps 288 kbps
Line Attenuation 56.0 db 26.5 db
Noise Margin 27.4 db 22.0 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

Well based on that info Plusnet's estimates could be OK and the exchange is only 20CN on BTw kit.
When you phoned up did they say anything about a modify order?
Have a look for any Open or Closed questions/tickets (including closed ones) see what reference there is to your call and any subsequent action.
harisqays
Grafter
Posts: 101
Registered: 14-11-2014

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

The problem is that due to my broadband capped to 1mb no matter which router i use i always getting 1152 down and 228 up. I am not the only one who is having this problem, another customer also had the exact same problem check this link http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,119616.0.html/.

I have reported a fault and waiting for their answer.
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Joined Plus net today and its nightmare

That was fixed a while back by a simple SNR Reset which is what I was going to suggest for you, but that's why I asked you to go and look at the tickets and see what the latest is. They should be able to do an SNR Reset immediately.