cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

bleepio
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-02-2014

Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

I'm having issues SSHing to my VPS via my plus.net connection. When I connect via other means there are no issues. Here are my ping and traceroutes:

*****:~ ******$ ping -c5 188.226.185.***
PING 188.226.185.*** (188.226.185.***): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
--- 188.226.185.*** ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

******:~ *****$ traceroute 188.226.185.***
traceroute to 188.226.185.*** (188.226.185.***), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 dsldevice (192.168.1.254) 231.042 ms 94.859 ms 100.214 ms
2 lo0-central10.ptw-ag01.plus.net (195.166.128.195) 376.188 ms * *
3 * link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net (212.159.2.144) 602.596 ms 1125.905 ms
4 xe-4-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net (212.159.0.240) 60.394 ms * 466.715 ms
5 te-4-2.car5.london1.level3.net (217.163.45.249) 97.430 ms
te-3-4.car5.london1.level3.net (217.163.45.181) 121.701 ms 1141.869 ms
6 ae-51-51.csw1.london1.level3.net (4.69.139.8Cool 58.595 ms 2514.366 ms 3993.974 ms
7 ae-123-3509.edge5.london1.level3.net (4.69.166.33) 1535.640 ms 450.112 ms
ae-126-3512.edge5.london1.level3.net (4.69.166.45) 1536.551 ms
8 ae-3.r00.londen10.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.9.125) 2906.444 ms * *
9 ae-7.r23.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.6.54) 1780.905 ms * 4121.091 ms
10 ae-3.r22.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.5.19Cool 143.785 ms 2150.945 ms *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
SSH is on the standard port but I can't seem to connect - or when I do it's extremely slow. The above would suggest network issues?
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

No response to ping probably means the server isn't configured to respond to pings, similarly the traceroute not reaching the destination just means the VPS doesn't respond to UDP packets (Linux traceroute).
The problem is probably due to the very high latency figures shown in the traceroute, to dsldevice.lan should be about 2ms or less, although some routers seem to just give a high figure for that first hop, but lower figures after.
Is anything heavily using your Internet connection at the same time, especially uploading?
bleepio
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-02-2014

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Quote from: ejs
No response to ping probably means the server isn't configured to respond to pings, similarly the traceroute not reaching the destination just means the VPS doesn't respond to UDP packets (Linux traceroute).
The problem is probably due to the very high latency figures shown in the traceroute, to dsldevice.lan should be about 2ms or less, although some routers seem to just give a high figure for that first hop, but lower figures after.
Is anything heavily using your Internet connection at the same time, especially uploading?

Nothing else was happening whilst I was connecting. No downloads or uploads. The server does respond to Pings - I can ping from my work machine.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,315
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Tracing a route to the same IP Block (188.226.185.1 was the first one that worked!) from Windows gives a very similar route but no large latencies or time-outs....
Tracing route to 188.226.185.1 over a maximum of 30 hops
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.178.1
 2    30 ms    22 ms    22 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190]
 3    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.128]
 4    22 ms    22 ms    23 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.104]
 5   217 ms   215 ms   218 ms  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.249]
 6    22 ms    22 ms    21 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
 7    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  ae-124-3510.edge5.london1.Level3.net [4.69.166.37]
 8    24 ms    23 ms    24 ms  ae-3.r00.londen10.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.9.125]
 9    23 ms    23 ms    22 ms  ae-7.r23.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.6.54]
10    39 ms    31 ms    36 ms  ae-3.r22.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.198]
11    31 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ae-1.r02.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.113]
12    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  xe-0-1-0-30.r02.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net [81.20.69.66]
13    34 ms    30 ms    31 ms  188.226.185.1

Not sure what (if anything) that proves/disproves but it appears to show there are no particular issues on Plusnet (or the routing).
And from Linux:
traceroute to 188.226.185.1 (188.226.185.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  fritz.box (192.168.178.1)  0.621 ms  0.721 ms  0.820 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net (195.166.128.190)  23.788 ms  24.436 ms  24.953 ms
3  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net (212.159.2.128)  24.944 ms  25.493 ms  25.981 ms
4  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net (212.159.0.104)  26.040 ms  27.518 ms  27.692 ms
5  te-3-4.car5.London1.Level3.net (217.163.45.181)  89.229 ms * *
6  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net (4.69.139.88)  35.719 ms  26.482 ms  26.458 ms
7  ae-126-3512.edge5.london1.Level3.net (4.69.166.45)  26.460 ms ae-124-3510.edge5.london1.Level3.net (4.69.166.37)  22.515 ms  23.658 ms
8  ae-3.r00.londen10.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.9.125)  25.381 ms  26.768 ms  27.077 ms
9  ae-7.r23.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.6.54)  27.078 ms  27.076 ms  28.348 ms
10  ae-3.r22.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.5.198)  43.912 ms  31.116 ms  40.780 ms
11  ae-1.r02.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.113)  34.196 ms  42.452 ms  31.775 ms
12  xe-0-1-0-30.r02.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net (81.20.69.66)  34.568 ms  34.218 ms  39.707 ms
13  188.226.185.1 (188.226.185.1)  32.834 ms  41.239 ms  41.703 ms
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

bleepio: how do ping and traceroute to other destinations compare with those to 188.226.185.*** ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

@ bleepio - What is your Plusnet Firewall set to?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall&firewallPage=basic
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,315
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

@bleepio, PM sent - see 'MY MESSAGES'.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
bleepio
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-02-2014

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Quote from: Jaggies
@ bleepio - What is your Plusnet Firewall set to?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall&firewallPage=basic

Firewall is off. And there is nothing set on my router that would suggest port blocking.
bleepio
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-02-2014

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Quote from: 77
Tracing a route to the same IP Block (188.226.185.1 was the first one that worked!) from Windows gives a very similar route but no large latencies or time-outs....
Tracing route to 188.226.185.1 over a maximum of 30 hops
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.178.1
 2    30 ms    22 ms    22 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190]
 3    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.128]
 4    22 ms    22 ms    23 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.104]
 5   217 ms   215 ms   218 ms  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.249]
 6    22 ms    22 ms    21 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
 7    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  ae-124-3510.edge5.london1.Level3.net [4.69.166.37]
 8    24 ms    23 ms    24 ms  ae-3.r00.londen10.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.9.125]
 9    23 ms    23 ms    22 ms  ae-7.r23.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.6.54]
10    39 ms    31 ms    36 ms  ae-3.r22.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.198]
11    31 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ae-1.r02.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.113]
12    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  xe-0-1-0-30.r02.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net [81.20.69.66]
13    34 ms    30 ms    31 ms  188.226.185.1

Not sure what (if anything) that proves/disproves but it appears to show there are no particular issues on Plusnet (or the routing).
And from Linux:
traceroute to 188.226.185.1 (188.226.185.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  fritz.box (192.168.178.1)  0.621 ms  0.721 ms  0.820 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net (195.166.128.190)  23.788 ms  24.436 ms  24.953 ms
3  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net (212.159.2.128)  24.944 ms  25.493 ms  25.981 ms
4  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net (212.159.0.104)  26.040 ms  27.518 ms  27.692 ms
5  te-3-4.car5.London1.Level3.net (217.163.45.181)  89.229 ms * *
6  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net (4.69.139.88)  35.719 ms  26.482 ms  26.458 ms
7  ae-126-3512.edge5.london1.Level3.net (4.69.166.45)  26.460 ms ae-124-3510.edge5.london1.Level3.net (4.69.166.37)  22.515 ms  23.658 ms
8  ae-3.r00.londen10.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.9.125)  25.381 ms  26.768 ms  27.077 ms
9  ae-7.r23.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.6.54)  27.078 ms  27.076 ms  28.348 ms
10  ae-3.r22.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.5.198)  43.912 ms  31.116 ms  40.780 ms
11  ae-1.r02.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.113)  34.196 ms  42.452 ms  31.775 ms
12  xe-0-1-0-30.r02.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net (81.20.69.66)  34.568 ms  34.218 ms  39.707 ms
13  188.226.185.1 (188.226.185.1)  32.834 ms  41.239 ms  41.703 ms


I'm guessing this suggests it's a router problem? What do you think?
I'm on the phone to Customer Services and they are unsure if they can help as they "do not support" what I'm trying to do.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,315
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

It might sound daft (and probably is since you're using an IP address rather than a URL) but have you tried different DNS servers - long shot but I wonder if they somehow affect the routing - the 188.226.185.x block shows on different IP locators as being located in Moscow or USA, the traceroute appears to suggest it's actually Netherlands - perhaps some part of the routing system is getting confused.
I currently use OpenDNS 208.67.222.222 - might just be worth a quick try (though a real long shot I admit), this is the only thing (except my router) that's not set up as Plusnet defaults.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
bleepio
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-02-2014

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Quote from: 77
It might sound daft (and probably is since you're using an IP address rather than a URL) but have you tried different DNS servers - long shot but I wonder if they somehow affect the routing - the 188.226.185.x block shows on different IP locators as being located in Moscow or USA, the traceroute appears to suggest it's actually Netherlands - perhaps some part of the routing system is getting confused.
I currently use OpenDNS 208.67.222.222 - might just be worth a quick try (though a real long shot I admit), this is the only thing (except my router) that's not set up as Plusnet defaults.

Yeah I changed my DNS to google a couple of days ago - one of the first things I tried. Will try OpenDNS too. I've also got a really old Thomson router that I'm thinking of replacing anyway... always worth a shot.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Do you have admin rights for the server you are running SSH to? If so, you could set it to listen on other ports, in addition to the standard SSH port.
This is a step I have taken on VPS's in the past, as a means of reducing the attacks that people make. And, a very long time ago, I needed to change the port I used, because Plusnet's traffic management resulted in my SSH sessions being ridiculously slow (I think I chose port 10000 then).
In my case, I have it listening on ports 1723 and 22022, and have the same ports allowed through the server's firewall. I only took port 22 away from the list once I confirmed it worked with the other two ports.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

It just struck me that the OP's traceroute stops pretty early, at least 2 or 3 hops before mine & 77's.
Could your IP be being ignored? Perhaps thrown into some DoS protection setup in Amsterdam?
It does seem weird.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Issues SSHing to Server via Home Network

Do you run faii2ban or denyhosts or similar and have you accidentally locked yourself out?
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)