cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with Plusnet Broadband

bofh86
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2022

Issue with Plusnet Broadband

Hi there,

 

Looking for some advice on reoccurring issue with Plusnet service.

Router keeps disconnecting, red light, then orange light flashing, then blue. Over the past few months this has been occurring more frequently, and despite having an engineer out a couple months ago, issue keeps occuring.

Any ideas?

As my contract is due to end soon, I feel I have to part ways with Plusnet if issues can't be resolved.

9 REPLIES 9
jab1
Legend
Posts: 15,124
Thanks: 4,721
Fixes: 220
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

@bofh86 Welcome to the forums. How old is the Hub?

John
Longliner
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 539
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

As John says, give us more details. But don't do anything hasty, your problem could be a line fault which is responsibility of Openreach, and which will persist whatever your ISP.

 

Mike

 

bofh86
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2022

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

I've been with Plusnet for nearly 18 months, so I would imagine the router is the same age.
bofh86
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2022

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

As I've already had engineer out to check, and they couldn't find a fault on the line, I'm unsure what other options I have. Plus, the price I'm paying for less speed than other providers is crazy, and with it constantly loosing connection too.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 15,124
Thanks: 4,721
Fixes: 220
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

@bofh86 It does sound like a possible duff router - can you post WAN logs, please.

John
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,413
Thanks: 10,068
Fixes: 1,578
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

Hi there,

I'm sorry to see you're having connection issues. I've tested your line and the tests aren't showing the cause for this.

Just to confirm, is your router plugged into the master telephone socket using the cables we've provided? 

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
bofh86
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2022

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

Hi Anoush,

Thanks for your reply. Yes, connected into the master, and connected with correct cable.

Would it be possible to have an upgraded router?

Kind regards,

Ian
jab1
Legend
Posts: 15,124
Thanks: 4,721
Fixes: 220
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

@bofh86 Before you go for a new Hub, it is possible there is another problem which that won't solve. Can you post the logs I asked for in message #6 please?

John
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,413
Thanks: 10,068
Fixes: 1,578
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Issue with Plusnet Broadband

Hi Ian,

I can't send you an upgraded router as the one you have is out of its 12 month warranty.

I'd recommend giving my colleagues in our Customer Option Team a call on 0800 013 2632 as we may have to recontract you in order to send a Hub Two free of charge (bar postage fee of £6.99). 

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet