cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this sync speed too high?

Cliff_Jordan
Grafter
Posts: 228
Registered: 01-08-2007

Is this sync speed too high?

After initial problems after switching to ADSL2+ last year when my sync speed seems far too low, things eventually stabilised and for most of this year the speed has been just over 19,000 with interleaving on.
This morning I find that interleaving has been switched off, the sync speed has increased but the upstream noise margin has dropped to zero! The router stats shown below seem to me to indicate a high error rate - but I have never been too confident about reading these stats. A download check this morning only achieved slightly less than 10,000 - but that was with a wireless connection.
Any thoughts on action either I or Plusnet could take?
ADSL Line Type ADSL2+
ADSL Line Coding FAST
Line Attenuation (Down):20  (Up):10
Noise Margin (Down):0  (Up):7
Total Output Power (Down):0  (Up):0
Current State DownStr: 19761(K)  UpStr: 1103(K)
undefined UP
FEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
FEC(INTERL) (Near):0  (Far):0
CRC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):19182
undefined (Near):0  (Far):0
HEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
HEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
Showtime last(sec) 27898
ADSL FW Version 0.52
ADSL Board Type Annex A
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,982
Thanks: 141
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

We could submit an SNR reset to retrain the line to 6db, however if there is an underlying issue it may not fix it. So it's up to you I'd say lets try that and if the problem returns we could then maybe dig a little deepe
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Cliff_Jordan
Grafter
Posts: 228
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

Thanks for the reply Adam.
Yes, please could we try the SNR reset. Presumably this would mean a lower sync speed but hopefully a faster download speed?
To be honest, for the use I make of my broadband connection, the extra speed is not that important, but a SNR of zero just seemed wrong!
Cliff_Jordan
Grafter
Posts: 228
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

Not certain if this is the result of the reset and retraining, but the stats this morning look more "normal" and the download speed has increased.
ADSL Line Type ADSL2+
ADSL Line Coding INTERLEAVED
Line Attenuation (Down):20  (Up):10
Noise Margin (Down):3  (Up):7
Total Output Power (Down):0  (Up):0
Current State DownStr: 18866(K)  UpStr: 1091(K)
undefined UP
FEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
FEC(INTERL) (Near):0  (Far):0
CRC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):1715
undefined (Near):0  (Far):0
HEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
HEC(FAST) (Near):0  (Far):0
Showtime last(sec) 1338626569
ADSL FW Version 0.52
ADSL Board Type Annex A
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

Hi Whiffler,
Not sure that Adam did the reset. Your target SNR is set to 3dB so sometimes this can fall below that, which I guess is what you were seeing. I could try setting it to 6dB, or are you happy as it is now?
Jojo Smiley
Cliff_Jordan
Grafter
Posts: 228
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

Jojo,
Since 2nd June the stats, as posted then, have remained the same and I have experience no problems - so I think best to leave things as they are at the moment. Possibly the return of interleaving (which gives me no problems as I'm not a gamer) has led to this?
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Is this sync speed too high?

It could well be that. Just let me know if you need any assistance Smiley