cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this any good folks?

rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎23-01-2009

Is this any good folks?

Ive had good connection and speed for quite a while now so been so please but past few days it start to go slow again...
This any good?
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 7 days, 9:23:00
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 445 / 16.934
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1,39 / 1,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,4 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,3 / 6,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 33,1 / 12,8
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 10 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 21 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 8 / 0
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

How very strange. Your attenuation suggests you are very close to the exchange, yet your sync speed, even with the current SN Margin is not as good as it ought to be. The Lack of any errors on the downstream for an uptime of 7+days suggests there's nothing seriously adrift with your connection, but overall things don't quite add up. So the best thing would be to go through some standard questions.
Can you hear/have you heard any crackling or other noises on the line when using the phone? Have you had any problems with incoming or outgoing calls?
Do you have a Master Socket like the one on the left?
Do you have any extension phone sockets, and where are you currently plugged in?
Do you use any extension leads, either between the socket and the filter, or the filter and the modem/router?
Do all your Microfilters look like this?
Is anything plugged into a socket without a Filter (eg.a Sky Box)?
Stumpy21
Rising Star
Posts: 156
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-06-2011

Re: Is this any good folks?

As you have an uptime of over 7 days first thing I would try is a resync with the exchange. Have you changed anything ? Was your speed OK before that last resync ?
If it was, I would go into the router control panel find the broadband connection section and disconnect from the internet.
Wait a minute and then power cycle (switch off and then on again) the router. Leaving a couple of minutes between off and on.
See how that goes before getting bogged down in anything else.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Is this any good folks?

@ rookey
You would almost certainly benefit from having your upstream uncapped as well.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

Stumpy21, you have missed the fact the "last resync" was not user initiated.
The last thing anyone should do is an ill-considered resync/reboot, apart from the fact that it promptly resets the modem/router statistics and so removing any clues as to what may be going on, one done at the wrong time can leave a user in a worse situation.
The question "Have you changed anything?" is a perfectly valid one though, and should be added to the original list.
rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎23-01-2009

Re: Is this any good folks?

Hi Guys
Thank you for your input.... I have altered nothing at all so it can't be anything since the internet was excellent and now gone to how it is now.
The phone doesn't crackle.  Ive no extension at all.. Nothing else is plugged into any of the socket just the router..
Cheers
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

OK, try a reboot using the following technique (as hinted by stumpy21) - this is to stop the exchange DLM thinking you've had a dropped connection. I also recommend doing it in daylight hours, between at least an hour after sunrise and at least an hour before sunset -
Log in to the Modem/Router, in the Internet box, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session (this is not the sync), wait about a minute and then power down the Modem/Router.
Stay offline for at least 10 minutes. When you power up, Login to the Modem/Router and click Connect to establish a new PPP session.
Post up some new DSL stats.
I always recommend not doing this more than 5 times in an hour, then leave it for the rest of the day. This method is to help stop the Exchange DLM from thinking your sync loss was a dropped connection.
(For anyone whose modem/router that doesn't have an interface for you to drop the PPP session, then pull the power plug and wait a minute or two before unplugging from the line).
One further point, especially applicable to very long lines, you will get very small differences in sync speed every time you sync, so just because you get a marginally better sync speed in one situation, it doesn't necessarily mean that situation is better than another situation.
PS. You can do a Disconnect & Connect (without a power down) to Gateway hop.
rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎23-01-2009

Re: Is this any good folks?

Done as describe above
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:32
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 445 / 17.775
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 19,09 / 35,24
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,3 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,3 / 6,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 34,3 / 12,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

You've gained about 1Mbps speed there, but what we have now is a clear indication that your Target SNRM has risen to 12dB for some reason. But as the line has obviously been stable for the previous 7+ days, then the next course of action would be to try and see if CRT will do an SNR reset for you as you don't seem to have any other problems. If there had been any other signs such as a noisy phone line, I would have suggested a CLT (copper Line Test) first but in this case I see no need.
rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎23-01-2009

Re: Is this any good folks?

Any plus net staff coming on today. Pls do snr reset for me
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,644
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

Hi all,
rookey, I'm happy to do that in this instance as there appears to be no issues with the line and the connection seems to be stable too.
Do drop us an update on Monday if there's no change and we'll be happy to take another look for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: ‎23-01-2009

Re: Is this any good folks?

I've just had a drop connection

Physical Connectivity OK
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:25
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.267 / 21.463
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 24,30 / 219,67
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,6 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,3 / 6,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,0 / 6,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 10 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Is this any good folks?

Quote from: rookey
I've just had a drop connection
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.267 / 21.463

Nice one - try a BT speedtest now...  Cool
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,961
Thanks: 4,259
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Is this any good folks?

Stumpy21
Rising Star
Posts: 156
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-06-2011

Re: Is this any good folks?

Excellent  Smiley
Always best to try the simple obvious solutions first and then, if needed, try a logical approach.