cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the gateway checker working?

paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Is the gateway checker working?

I've noticed a few time lately, including today, when I try to check which gateway I'm on it says 'unknown gateway'
Paul
19 REPLIES
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Quite possibly because of the gateway you are on, which may be correct.
It should tell you this gateway may be referred to by another name.
There is a nice giveaway to confirm this is the cawe. If you receive a message saying along the lines of "This may be because you are not a plusnet customer", then you are not connected via the PlusNet network. If this is missing, the text next to the "unknown" gateway is most likely accurate.
paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

The actual text says:
"Which gateway
You are currently connected to the "unknown" gateway. "
and thats it.
so which gateway is this referring to?
and I am a PN customer
Paul
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Ah, I see why.
This is because of the trial you are currently participating in.
paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Quote from: P
Ah, I see why.
This is because of the trial you are currently participating in.

Well don't keep me in suspense then - what trial is that!
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,913
Thanks: 256
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

My connection says:-
Quote
Which gateway
You are currently connected to the "unknown" gateway.

As far as I am aware I am not on any "trial" and my connection is to PlusNet.
Can you tell me what I am trialling and whether it's going to cause problems?

prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Infact, scrub that, I got mixed up in a post (for which I cannot see the original intended post anymore).
Try it now.
Looks like some extended routing within our network for your connection, which I find a little odd. Doing some manual testing now suggests it should display something about pcl-ag01.
paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Your correct, it does now. I don't know why it was showing 'unknown gateway' earlier I haven't reconnected.
Paul
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,913
Thanks: 256
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Quote from: P
Try it now.
Looks like some extended routing within our network for your connection, which I find a little odd. Doing some manual testing now suggests it should display something about pcl-ag01.

It now shows
Quote
You are currently connected to the "City Lifeline, Juniper 8" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as pcl-ag01.

Can you confirm that there is no trial?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,330
Thanks: 1,115
Fixes: 90
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

pcl-ag01 is the gateway used for the Aladdin trial. Wonder if it had anything to do with the tunnelling we've got set up for that?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

I certainty haven't volunteered for this trial, in fact its the first I've read about it.
Paul
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,330
Thanks: 1,115
Fixes: 90
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

I wasn't suggesting you were on the trial Paul. pcl-ag01 is not being used exclusively for Aladdin trialists. Non-trialists connect to it too. So the trial would work though we had to set up extra network interfaces on this gateway meaning it's configured slightly differently.
It's nothing to worry about.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 605
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

Ok Bob, Thanks
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,913
Thanks: 256
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

I definitely do NOT want to be on this trial!
In fact when I followed the link it appears that Aladdin is posing as "Safe Surfing Security Trial"
Is this related in any way to Phorm, Webwise or anything of that ilk?
In any case, I specifically didn't ask for it and certainly want to removed from any such trial as soon as possible.
There's enough spyware around without PlusNet adding to the burden.

prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is the gateway checker working?

I would suggest you reread the post provided here, as already indicated, you are not on the trial/