cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Hi, Since i switched to plusnet gaming has been very laggy. Almost every game is bad, i'm on unlimted. I've tried having game mode on but the lag is even worse, portforward/dmz also. Aswell as having the firewall disabled.
(I came here before(just after i switched to plusnet) nothing could be done.../was done.)
Which is why i'd like to know if it's worth getting the pro feature?
(Before with talk talk my ping was better, but ofcourse that was dsl, with low donwload/upload)  Which is something i don't need just ping.
Thanks.
21 REPLIES
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Also o2 and sky in the past i had a better ping, also Bethere was similar to this. But not as much lag, this is very bad.
Is the pro option going to make any difference or not?
Thanks.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

I tried it  Embarrassed Undecided
not a lot of difference but depends on Your connection  , it just prioritizes you games its dont improve your ping
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Also if interleaving is switched on can you turn it off.
Ok thanks for the response above^ if nothing else works i'll give it ago.
I would like interleaving turned off. If anyone replies that is.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Hi wiganfcfan07,
There isn't any need for you to have the Pro Add On when you're on the Unlimited Package, the Traffic Management set for your product should prioritise Gaming.
Your line is erroring a bit which may be the reason you're having a few problems gaming. Interleaving is off at the moment, but if your line continues to error it'll likely turn itself on - that's not a bad thing. Although Interleaving increases your ping slightly, you shouldn't really notice it, it'll make your gaming quality much better as Interleaving will be correcting those errors.
Unfortunately we don't have any control over when DLM takes action on your line, which includes Interleaving being applied. Aside from gaming, does your connection appear fine? I've attached some details from your line.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Hey i've been swicthing gme mode off and on the past few days without resetting con, maybe thats why the errors? If not i don't know, download is very low today but i will reset now and see if switching game mode on/off without resetting is causing it.
Although thats not a problem, only the ping being this high is for me, i really don't mind up/download speed.
Ok it's been reset now.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

I'd avoid restarting your modem as much as you can, the longer you can keep this on, the better.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Ok, upto now i have only reset it a few times.(Maybe 5-6) since switching to plusnet.

So buy the pro add-on wouldn't make any difference?
Thanks.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

I wouldn't see the need for the Pro Add On.
I would leave everything on and give the line time to settle for, perhaps a week or so and if you're still having problems, let us know.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Ok thanks Chris, i will report back in a week. Today has been much better, we've had a thunder storm for the past 48hours maybe that was causing some errors too. Idk, but i'll see how it goes and get back to you.
Thanks.
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Hi, would it be possible for you to share those details again that you attached before? As i would like to know if there are as many errors on my line.
Also reporting back on my connection it has been better since you said to wait for the line to settle... Not sure if you changed anything but pings have been better and my speeds are not spiking anymore...
I have some electrical work being done at our house between wednesday to friday, which is why i ask now, because the power will be going off a few times and i'd like to stay or switch back to this if possible after.
Thanks.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Hi,
Sure, please see attached. Nothing has been changed from this end.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
wiganfcfan07
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Registered: 23-01-2014

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Thanks Chris.
Today has been much worse, maybe the reset gave a short term boost.
I will be switching from extension to the master socket within the next few days i will report back after that.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

No worries, keep us in the loop.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Is it worth getting the pro add-on for gaming?

Have you tried a BT speed test?
http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
Are you using wireless? If so try connecting by ethernet.