cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to test line speed?

rx7aiii
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 05-08-2010

Is it possible to test line speed?

We now have fibre to the box. I am interested in buying as we currently have a speed of 1.3 Mbps (non fibre).The problem is plusnet estimate our fibre speed at 1.6 Mbps. Open reach estimate the fibre speed between 6 and 12 Mbps. At that speed I would buy it. Can plusnet test the speed before I sign up? There is no point in upgrading and finding out its 1.6!
Thanks for any advice.
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,692
Thanks: 916
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Does the Plusnet FTTC estimate match the speed OpenReach estimate for ADSL?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rx7aiii
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 05-08-2010

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Hi
I can't answer that. The speed estimate came after I asked openreach if we had FTTC. Out ADSL estimates are normally 1Mbps range 1 - 3.5 but no one sees over 2Mbps.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

This checker: http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/ADSLChecker.TelephoneNumberOutput should give your ADSL estimate as well as FTTC, it should also indicate which cabinet you're connected to (possibly useful for estimating distance if you can find the cabinet).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
rx7aiii
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 05-08-2010

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Thanks for that link. I can see where 1.6 comes from. Disappointing compared to what openreach said.
Featured Products
Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Downstream Range(Mbps)
Availability Date
High Low High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean) 3.2 1.6 1.2 0.8 -- Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 2.3 0.7 1 0.5 -- Available

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 1 -- 1 to 3.5 Available
ADSL Max Up to 1 -- 0.75 to 2.5 Available
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Other Offerings
FTTP on Demand 330 30 -- Available
Fibre Multicast -- -- -- Available
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,576
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 234
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

You have FTTP available, you could always look at the trial..

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

rx7aiii
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 05-08-2010

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

Hi Dvorak
Thanks for the reply. Can you expand on the trial for me. I would consider anything that gets me a faster and more usable speed.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,576
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 234
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Is it possible to test line speed?

There's a whole sub-forum on it here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/board,68.0.html
and you can apply here... https://portal.plus.net/wizard/?wizard_id=20

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'