cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

I would like to block a range of ports on my router is this possible.  Can only find port forward options not blocking options.
Adrian
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

By default all ports are blocked for unsolicited access from the internet.
All port are open by default for access across the LAN.
Can you give a bit more details of what you're trying to achieve?
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

OK I am trying to block some out going port ranges.
Say I wanted to stop ports 20000 to 20500, incoming and outgoing, the only option to me seems to be have a device permenantly on and have this port range always passed to this device.
I say incoming because when an outgoing request happens on this range the reply is within this range.
Adrian
Is it easier to say I want to block the port range in any direction?
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,917
Thanks: 338
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

It's possible to create expressions and add firewall rules to block IP addresses and ports, inbound or outbound, via telnet. Some information is here. Blocking outgoing packets that originated from devices in your network would need rules adding to the "forward" chain.
Although I'm not sure why you wouldn't just stop whatever device it is from sending the packets to those ports in the first place.
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

Its a gaming system out there that I wish to block as I think, the games are, shall we say not suitable for my younger members, but the range of devices that can access it ranges from phones, WII tablets PC etc.
When blocked on one device another was used.
Adrian
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

Try the following telnet commands:
expr add name=myportstcp type=serv proto=tcp dstport=20000 dstportend=20500
expr add name=myportsudp type=serv proto=udp dstport=20000 dstportend=20500
saveall
Alternatively you could edit the "expr.ini" section of the routers config file (backup / restore)
ie add
add name=myportstcp type=serv proto=tcp dstport=20000 dstportend=20500
add name=myportsudp type=serv proto=udp dstport=20000 dstportend=20500

You can now use the routers GUI to create firewall rules blocking the service (destination ports) "myportstcp" and "myportsudp"
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

OK thanks for your help but I ended up with everything blocked?
In the router I used the test entry and added the two services from LAN to WAN and Blocked gave one a name of gameudp and the other gametcp.
I then selected test_entry and everything had gone. no access.
Do I have to have more rules to enable all others?
Will try to make screen shots
Adrian
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

OK I did this
In Telnet
expr add name=gametcp type=serv proto=tcp dstport=27000 dstportend=27050    
expression added successfully.
expr add name=gameudp type=serv proto=udp dstport=27000 dstportend=27050
expression added successfully.
saveall.
Then to the web page for the router and under firewall created another firewall rule called 'All_but'
Then selected the All_but as the firewall service.
I was assuming that all the rest of the ports would be enabled but guess I must add all the rest somehow?
Adrian

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

You need an allow all rule at the bottom of the list. Don't know if it's missing or if you've chopped it off the bottom of the screen capture.When creating your custom firewall it's best to clone the existing "standard" rule then you'll get the allow all rule.
Not running a Technicolor at present so can't check, but IIRC the default allow all rule is:-
Name > "FromLan", Source Intf > lan,  Destination Intf > any, Service > any
It's important that this is the last rule in the list.
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

OK thank  you npr, I will add the line, sorry for the delay in responding work got in the way from me getting on line.
Adrian
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,762
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

Remember that by blocking the ports in this way you are blocking them for everything else. Since this game is on the Internet have you considered blocking it's IP address(es) instead?
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

They provide a list of ports they use, do not know what all the servers ip's are, I assume they have many?
Adrian
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,762
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

Well without knowing what the game is called or the site on which it resides I cannot answer that. But IMHO the effort of blocking the IP far outweighs the loss of these ports for anything else that might use them. If the list of ports used are exclusively theirs then fair enough but that I doubt.
http://www.iana.org/assignments/service-names-port-numbers/service-names-port-numbers.xhtml
AdrianPH
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 31-05-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n

It's Steam!
Adrian
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,762
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Is it possible to block a range of ports Technicolor TG582n