cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,016
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/
It seems to sit for ages waiting for static.bbci.co.uk
9 REPLIES
quelquod
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 519
Thanks: 53
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Loads fine for me.
Democracy - 3 wolves and a lamb voting about what to have for lunch!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

OK here!
IE10 & W7
Geoff,
York.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,979
Thanks: 376
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

I had that problem for a brief moment yesterday. I think the IP address for static.bbci.co.uk was temporarily 64.211.144.178 (USA!). The problem didn't last for very long, and Plusnet's DNS servers are back to giving 23.62.X.Y IPs for static.bbci.co.uk. But I will check the IP addresses next time I'm stuck waiting for something like static.bbci.co.uk or i.microsoft.com.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,007
Thanks: 1,245
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Ok here too.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,016
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

OK here now however the hops are a bit slow - will check next time it happens (using Google DNS primary and OpenDNS secondary servers) - it is via the USA though
C:\Users\Jim>tracert static.bbci.co.uk
Tracing route to a1638.g.akamai.net [213.248.117.65] over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    30 ms    99 ms    99 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    42 ms    46 ms    45 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.197]
  3    44 ms    42 ms    44 ms  link7-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [84.93.248.76]
  4    41 ms    75 ms    45 ms  xe-7-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.1.20]
  5    53 ms    89 ms  109 ms  217.163.45.181
  6    73 ms    *      50 ms  ae-1-51.edge5.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.75]
  7    45 ms    48 ms    52 ms  Telia [4.68.111.182]
  8    47 ms    45 ms    50 ms  ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.248.217]
  9    45 ms    46 ms    49 ms  ldn-b3-link.telia.net [213.155.136.201]
10    53 ms    50 ms    45 ms  213-248-117-65.customer.teliacarrier.com [213.248.117.65]
Trace complete.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,232
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Apart from its usual left wing bias, it's OK here. (No doubt the mods will rapidly remove this comment.)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,016
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Don't be silly - it is well known (or at least assumed) that the mods (some of them anyway) are politically to the right of Genghis Khan  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

Quote from: Oldjim
OK here now however the hops are a bit slow - will check next time it happens (using Google DNS primary and OpenDNS secondary servers)

I find google dns is not so good at finding the closest CDN server.
May be worth trying opendns as the primary.
(using root dns)
tracert static.bbci.co.uk
Tracing route to a1638.g.akamai.net [23.62.53.49]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1  102 ms    98 ms    99 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    21 ms    26 ms    15 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191]
  3    15 ms    15 ms    16 ms  link9-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [84.93.248.176]
  4    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  fa0-0.pth-gw1.plus.net [212.159.1.60]
  5    14 ms    15 ms    39 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5]
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    97 ms    14 ms    16 ms  a23-62-53-49.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [23.62.53.49]
(using google dns)
tracert static.bbci.co.uk
Tracing route to a1638.g.akamai.net [2.16.216.137]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    39 ms    99 ms    99 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    17 ms    15 ms    15 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191]
  3    15 ms    17 ms    14 ms  link11-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [84.93.248.180]
  4    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  fa0-0.pth-gw1.plus.net [212.159.1.60]
  5  155 ms    32 ms    14 ms  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.249]
  6    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  ae-52-52.csw2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.120]
  7    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  ae-225-3601.edge3.London1.Level3.net [4.69.166.146]
  8    16 ms    15 ms    14 ms  Telecom-Italia [4.68.127.30]
  9    27 ms    27 ms    27 ms  xe-0-0-0.franco31.fra.seabone.net [195.22.211.193]
10    27 ms    28 ms    29 ms  akamai-row.franco31.fra.seabone.net [89.221.34.234]
11    30 ms    28 ms    27 ms  2.16.216.137
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,979
Thanks: 376
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Is anybody seeing a problem with BBC News

If you leave a few minutes between queries, Google DNS servers will give you a different pair of IP addresses.