cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet Disconnects every 30 mins

frosty1957

Internet Disconnects every 30 mins

Hi
I am very new to Plus net and have only been with the service for a matter of weeks, and can sadly say it got off on the wrong foot from day one.
I signed up for the Pro package as I wanted a constant speed throughout the day for all internet activities, but have some reservations about this actually happening.
After signing up I decided not to opt for the plusnet router as I already had a working and stable router and also had a brand new one sitting in a box, after the line was activated I tried both routers and had many problems connecting and actually staying connected.
When connected, everything would be fine then the line would drop - a few times an hour it seemed. Every time this happened I could not connect to the internet for sometimes up to an hour, even tried reseting/turning router on and off and also PC on and off.
Somehow the connection would just come back.
After informing tech support and many phone calls later they confirmed that I was actually loosing connection every 29 mins which even they said was very odd. They then sent a tested plus net router out for us to use so they could see if there was any difference.
There are filters on every phone socket in the house, but how likely are they to fail? If so, is there a way of testing them?
When the connection dropped with the old router I would receive "server timed out" page in firefox, now with the plus net router I receive the Thompson router screen stating the connection is down.
I have noticed a difference with the new router as it is actually reconnecting itself again to the internet within a matter of seconds even though the Thompson screen appears.
Internet has been fine before switching to Plus net, just seems very odd what I am experiencing.
Has anyone else ever had this kind of problem?
Any help or assistance would be great.
Cheers