cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Hi,
Moved to PN yesterday, and I just tried to move a file across my network.
My desktop is connected via wireless dongle, but the HTPC I have is connected by cable.
I used to get ~ 4MB/sec, but I'm not getting @500KB/sec
Any ideas?
20 REPLIES
vultura
Grafter
Posts: 245
Thanks: 4
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Welcome to the forums.
Is it the Technicolor TG582n router you have?
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Yup
& thanks for the welcome Smiley
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Apparently, its connected to the wireless side at 39Mbps, and its a 100Mbps wired connection.
So I don't see why the transfer speeds are so slow?
39Mbps / 8 --> 4.8MB/sec - exactly what I had before Huh?  Even if it was split for duplex, would still be 2.5MB/sex, 4X faster than I'm actually getting
vultura
Grafter
Posts: 245
Thanks: 4
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

It could be a faulty router.
It has to be said though that some members here have reported that the wifi on the TG582n is pretty poor.
One thing you could try is to change the channel the router is outputting on, just in case it is conflicting with other networks in the area.  You can use something like inssider to scan and see what channels other detected networks are using.
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Good call.  I have wifi analyzer, and yep, half the world is on channel 1.  Actually, there's traffic across every channel Sad
I'll figure out the best option, change, test and report back.
I doubt its faulty, I've been reading many other posts from unhappy people.  Can't believe how poor this supplied-router is.  Its actually worse than the terrible O2 Wireless Box IV that I've just retired.
Might just buy a decent one instead.
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Great, tried to run the wizard which appears to be the only way to change the channel, timed out half way through, and no I can't get back into the router.
Rebooting, back in a min.
Mind, it did change it automatically from 1 to 6.  Which is about the best option.  So at least it gets one mark, out of 100.
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Right, that's now running at 1.5MB/sec, which is about half what it was before.  But I can live with that, even if it is poor.
After rebooting the router, I found the setting to manually select the channel, so that's done.  However, I do keep dropping out ALL the time. Having to reload many times just to manage the router.

Quick question, do they use this same crappy router when you have Fibre?  Its coming to my area in January, so I don't want to buy a new router, only to find there's a better one coming in a couple of months.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Yes it's the same router for fibre but with different firmware which changes one of the LAN ports to a WAN port.
Don't go out and buy a new ADSL router/modem because for fibre you nee a cable type router which has a WAN ethernet port.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

I was looking at buying this before I joined PN.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Buffalo-Wireless-N-Nfiniti-AirStations-Router/dp/tech-data/B005584W2E/ref=de...
Seems that it has a WAN port - that would do, right?
vultura
Grafter
Posts: 245
Thanks: 4
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Quote from: petertr2000
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Buffalo-Wireless-N-Nfiniti-AirStations-Router/dp/tech-data/B005584W2E/ref=de_a_smtd
Seems that it has a WAN port - that would do, right?

I cannot find a spec that states it does and to be honest I wouldn't expect it to as it is an ADSL router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

@petertr2000:
I hope you are not confusing WLAN with WAN!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Quote from: vultura
Quote from: petertr2000
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Buffalo-Wireless-N-Nfiniti-AirStations-Router/dp/tech-data/B005584W2E/ref=de_a_smtd
Seems that it has a WAN port - that would do, right?

I cannot find a spec that states it does and to be honest I wouldn't expect it to as it is an ADSL router.

"Interfaces/Ports: 4 x RJ-45 10/100 Mbps LAN, 1 x RJ-45 10/100 Mbps WAN"

No?
vultura
Grafter
Posts: 245
Thanks: 4
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

I think that is a mistake by Amazon to be honest.  I have googled the product code and looked on two other supplier sites eg http://www.ballicom.co.uk/wbmrhpg300heu-buffalo-airstation-nfiniti-highpower-gigabit-broadband-adsl2...
They don't mention anything about an RJ45 Wan Port.
petertr2000
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Internal Network Speed dropped to a tenth when moved over to PN Router

Err...
"Interfaces LAN : 4 x 10Base-T/100Base-TX/1000Base-T - RJ-45 ? WAN : 1 x ADSL2+ ? Hi-Speed USB : 1 x"
dick:quote