cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

I've been suffering intermittent loss of service for a few weeks now. After doing the usual tests I was sent a new router, but this didn't solve the problem. I spent a long session with a couple of helpful chaps on the helpline and the solution is..... another router!
During the help session I was told to ping bbc.co.uk via a command window and 2 packets were lost. At the time I was connected to the test socket and my laptop was connected by LAN to the router. Both routers gave the same result, so how likely is it that another router is going to help?
14 REPLIES
irsina
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 18-11-2009

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Same problem here. I have two routers but same problem with both (so don't think is a router problem). Random disconnections and 6 days without connection at all last week. My connection can work fine for a month and then I start having daily disconnections (interesting enough it happens mostly during the night). Then some random day, I have disconnections during the day and next thing is no connection at all for several minutes to hours.
I live in Edinburgh, so it isn't anything related with living outside the city far away from the exchange. In fact the exchange is just 0.6 miles from my flat. My conclusion is that the cables are bad and the line is just too noisy, and therefore I get disconnections with the noise reaches the tolerance level.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Hi anotherbob,
Well I'd be surprised if it did, but then has your problem been loss of sync with the exchange or loss of PPP Session Internet connectivity?
If you've been having drops in sync I'd suggest from now on, I recommend that whenever you need to reboot/resync or swap anything - use this Disconnect method -
Do a Disconnect of your PPP Internet session with the ISP - you need to login to the modem/router interface and look for the Disconnect button to click on. On the Thomson modem/routers you will typically find it in the box marked Internet as shown here.
Now wait a few minutes, power down. Then wait 10 minutes (during this time swap any filters, modem/router, connect to test socket, etc. - it doesn't matter if you take longer than 10 minutes) and then power up again (You may need to login to the modem/router and click on Connect to re-establish the PPP Internet session). Check the stats immediately (The Noise Margin [SNRM] shown is usually the current Target Noise Margin).
I usually recommend you do this no more than 5 times in an hour, and then leave it alone for the rest of the day.  
Remember the reason for this procedure is to help prevent the Exchange DLM from thinking you have a dropping connection (or a worse one than you may have).
Also note, you can use the Disconnect/Connect (without a power down) to Gateway hop.
If you post your ADSL stats (click View more) from the DSL interface in your modem/router also the full results from BT Speedtester (Diagnostic) and your Current Line speed (Login required) it'll give us all a better idea of what is going on.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

I'll add some connection logs to the above:
Anotherbob:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13408908418800.png" />
Doesn't look too bad but I'd say if the above doesn't help settle it down then it'd be worth running through the faults wizard - http://faults.plus.net
irsina:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13408909696184.png" />
Definitely not looking healthy and most likely the line noise that's causing the issues, that'll need reporting to your phone provider - though if they can't help we'll be happy to see what we can do.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,260
Thanks: 549
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Anotherbob:  I'd put money on the routers being fine.  Far more likely to be a line or environmental problem.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Have a listen to your phone line with a corded handset to see if you can hear any crackling or other noises.
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

I had another loss of service last night, but this morning it's restored.
I had a listen on a corded handset and I couldn't identify any "snap crackle or pop".
My current linespeed is 7.5
Here is a snap of the stats from my router this morning.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

You didn't mention in your OP whether you'd done/or been asked to do tests plugged into the Test socket (behind the front plate of the NTE5).
Do you have any fixed extension wiring and sockets? Are you using any extension leads between the socket and the filter or filter and the modem/router - these will usually cause problems?
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

I have done tests  with the router plugged directly (via filter) to the Test socket and my laptop connected by LAN to the router. The problem persisted. I noticed last evening when I lost service that when I restarted my PC the wireless icon on the toolbar first showed the "blue circle" for a longish time, then the "yellow triangle". At this point in the Network & sharing centre there was a red cross between the router and internet. Then the yellow triangle cleared and the Network & sharing centre showed a connection to internet. However there was till no service.
Also I have occasionally seen "CHAP authentication failed" when rebooting my router.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Hi there,
I can see you've contacted our support team and they've arranged an RMA for the router - hope that helps with things. If the situation is the same with the new router I'd definitely recommend raising a fault to us at http://faults.plus.net so our faults team can get this sorted for you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

There was a network Outage yesterday evening that may have affected you http://usertools.plus.net/status/archive/1340836610.htm
There's also BT maintenance going on that could have affected you if you've had loss of PPP Internet session after midnight http://usertools.plus.net/status/archive/1340631777.htm
Can you tell us about any extension sockets and wiring, as you line seems to be under-performing suggesting some noise pickup.
anotherbob
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 02-09-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

There is only one phone socket in my house, the main one.
There is a filter connected to it, and my DECT phone is connected to that filter.
My router is connected to the filter by a lead of about 8 metres length. This locates my router about centrally for all the devices that need to connect to it. My PC (with Netgear Wireless adapter), my wife's laptop, and four streaming devices in various rooms.
This is a read out of my routers log.....
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:56:47 - Receive NTP Reply from time-h.netgear.com
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:57:24 - LCP down.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:57:40 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:57:40 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:58:41 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:58:41 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:59:42 - Initialize LCP.
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:59:42 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Thu, 2012-06-28 22:00:11 - CHAP authentication success
Thu, 2012-06-28 21:53:09 - Router start up
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:04:25 - LCP down.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:04:28 - Initialize LCP.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:04:28 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:05:28 - Initialize LCP.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:05:28 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:06:29 - Initialize LCP.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:06:29 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:07:30 - Initialize LCP.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:07:30 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Fri, 2012-06-29 02:07:52 - CHAP authentication success
Fri, 2012-06-29 08:23:57 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.6
Fri, 2012-06-29 13:18:08 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.6
Fri, 2012-06-29 17:13:25 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.6
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

Unless that 8m lead is a twisted pair screened lead, it will be giving your problems. I'll edit this post in a moment with a link for you.
Your DECT phone may need double filtering as well.
Edit: See new post below.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

I think Anotherone is more concerned with whether or not the bell wire is still in use on your internal phone wiring, as this can add interference which would cause the sort of drops you're seeing. If you're not sure what that is (apologies if you are) there's more detail on here: http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm
I'd say it's something you'd need to be careful with, as you could end up losing phone and broadband and if it was done by yourself we wouldn't be able to raise a fault to get it sorted, as the fault would be within your premises.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Intermittent loss of service, despite new router.

It's his extension lead I'm concerned about Matt.
Quote
My router is connected to the filter by a lead of about 8 metres length.

anotherbob you need one of these if you aren't already using such a lead.