cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intermittent connection fault

VallyJim
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-12-2016

Intermittent connection fault

I continuously have to reboot my router in order to just be able to ping an ip on the internet, when the problem occurs I can't even ping the plusnet default gateway or DNS servers. I initially thought it was a DNS issue, but it seems to be more than just this.

I'm on my 2nd router now as I blamed the original for the issue, but the problem seems to be on plusnet side I assume.

 

 

I'm from a technical background so please ask me any questions that could be of help to you.

 

Current Rate (Kbps) 1263 23285
Max Rate (Kbps) 1272 23156
SNR Margin (dB) 7 3.1
Line Attenuation (dB) 4 6.5
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Intermittent connection fault

Hello @VallyJim

 

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your connection. Looking at your connection from your exchange to the router, there are a few drop outs:

 

Testing your broadband and from your stats, the low SNR margin stands out to me as possibly causing an issue. I've now performed a DLM change to move the target to 6db.

 

I'd probably advise to monitor the connection over the next day and see how it goes.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,022
Thanks: 1,562
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Intermittent connection fault

@VallyJim,

A warm welcome to the forums.

An observation on the stats you posted - it would be helpful if you could have separated the US and DS rates and indicated which was which.  The figures running into each other makes them undiscernable.

The line attenuation figures rather suggest that you are sat outside of the exchange ... in which case a SNRM of 3dB ought not to be too much of a problem.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,920
Thanks: 341
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Intermittent connection fault

If the router needs rebooting, that implies a problem with the router (either faulty or misconfigured).

By 2nd router, was that a replacement of the exact same device?

It would be useful to look a the router logs, or check if any of the DSL stats are different when the problem is occurring compared to when it's working normally.

VallyJim
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-12-2016

Re: Intermittent connection fault

Hi there, 

 

It was ok for a short while, but very erratic again unfortunately. I wonder if you could force it to sync at a lower speed than 23mbps, 18 would be fine if the connection is stable.

 

Thanks a lot!

 

Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 1275 22933
Max Rate (Kbps) 1276 22820
SNR Margin (dB) 6.6 3.1
Line Attenuation (dB) 3.9 7
Errors (Pkts) 0 0

 

google.com ping for example:

 

Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=54
Request timed out.
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=461ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=1062ms TTL=54
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=1577ms TTL=54
Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=32 time=2471ms TTL=54
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Intermittent connection fault

I wouldn't ping or traceroute Google, because they have started to rate limit IMCP traffic, so ping time outs can look like packet loss when sometimes it isn't.

 

But, I'll check up on things tomorrow once I'm back in the office.

 

I've moved your SNR target back up to 6db and I've also placed a modify order to help keep the target from dropping. Should go through within 24 hours.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
VallyJim
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-12-2016

Re: Intermittent connection fault

Thanks a lot. 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Intermittent connection fault

No problem, if there's ever anything else I can help with please feel free to let me know.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support