cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interleaving

lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Interleaving

Hi I am a new customer with plusnet and was just wondering if interleaving would be on from the off as i was on fastpath with TalkTalk before, and I cant see any stats in the router about whether its on or off (Technicolor TG582n).
Thx Wink
20 REPLIES
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: Interleaving

Check on the DSL Connection page. If "FEC Errors" is 0, you're on fastpath
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

Yes it is set to 0  Sad was hoping i was on interleaved cause i have not had a great experience with my first 2 days on the ps3 with plusnet and with adding the pro add on too i thought it would be much better than TalkTalk  Cry
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

I was reading these forums yesterday and came across gateways Huh when I do a speed test it comes up as the nearest server being London where as my old ISP used to say Sheffield which seemed right as I live 30 mins away from sheffield? could this be the cause as to why it is always really choppy when I do online gaming?
Which gateway
You are currently connected to the gateway known as pcl-ag08.
This is located in City Lifeline House.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,455
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Interleaving

All the Plusnet internet gateways are in data centres in London; customer data travels from wherever we live to the gateways over BT wholesale's network. Speed and ping testers in London will normally give the best results for checking whether our connections are performing properly.
Access to gaming or other sites from the gateways is via peering links also in London to the internet.
David
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving

Hi there,
What kind of things are you experiencing? Interleaving is turned off at the moment and everything seems fine with your connection.
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

just choppy game play really where it would do like mini freezes & jerking and not doing the command I give it straight away  Sad
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving

Is it at any particular times?
Could you create a <a href="http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,106312.0.html">ping graph</a> so we could see what's going on?
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

well that was 1 test i just done Shocked
sent 250 packets and received 320 or something like that which gave me -24%
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/c39e6d12b268bd7249411ab08e88fe77.html"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - Plusnet Pings" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share-large/c39e6d12b268bd7249411ab08e88fe77.png" /></a>
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving

It look's like you need to enable router to respond to pings, if you're using the one we supplied you with use this <a href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/guides/routers/speedtouch-585.html">guide</a>.
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

I tried doing that but just seems to make no difference at all.
I've added the pro boost aswell but seems that does absolutely nothing Angry
Please can you just check my connection to make sure its ok cause i am still inside my 14 day trial period and just want to make sure it will not always be like this otherwise I will have no option but to cancel Cry
I see my upload speed is capped (0.33) and getting half the speed as to what i was getting at talktalk (0.75) will this be a cause?
Please help as all I do is online gaming lol  Embarrassed
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,455
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Interleaving

To check whether your TG582n is set to respond to pings, login to the router's web interface, go to Toolbox, then Firewall and click the Pick a task… option Allow PING on your WAN interface.
If that says disabled click the Enable button. If it's already enabled make sure your WAN IP address is still the same as that being checked by the tester.
To get your upstream sync speed uncapped I suggest giving the CSC a ring and ask. The digital care team do not normally work weekends.
Edit: Oops Friday tomorrow  Embarrassed
David
lowlatency
Grafter
Posts: 81
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Interleaving

Hi thanks for the reply,
I have gone in already and enabled it and also disabled it, but it seems to make no difference as to what option is set. Sad
can I just ask what does that option do to improve gaming? cause I'm sure I read up about this option and was being advised to turn it off/disable it as it can be a security risk?
dick:quote
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Interleaving

I've asked Adam to come and reply here shortly.
Quote from: lowlatency
i am still inside my 14 day trial period

What 14 day trial period is that, I'm not aware of this? Obviously we'd much prefer to fix the issues you're having but I've just noticed someone on Twitter mention a 14 day trial too and am wondering where that's advertised because as far as I know once the service is activated and the router connected the normal cancellation fees apply.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff