cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interleaving?

Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Interleaving?

Hi, I recently opened a ticket as my FTTC had dropped from 35MB to 13MB (done this a few times over the last year). The Plusnet  line test carried out prior to the engineer visit has interleaving as "high"
and after the engineer had been out Interleaving was low?
First test results:
Test Outcome Pass  
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 15.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 5.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Target Fix Time  
Fault Report Advised N
Profile Name 7.5M-15M Downstream, Interleaving High - 2.5M-5M Upstream, Interleaving On
Time Stamp NA
After the engineer visit:
Engineers notes : **RAend line test ok on ecli pse and ADSL VDSL te st also Pq test done to a pass,no issues found so reset the DLM now connecting a t 39476 Mbps down an d 7402 Mbps Up which is way above the pr edicted speeds,T&D t o mrs White and advi sed.
Test Outcome Pass  
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 35.8 Mbps
Upstream Speed 6.9 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Target Fix Time  
Fault Report Advised N
Profile Name 20M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 4.2M-8.5M Upstream, Interleaving On
Time Stamp 2013-06-07T05:00:00
What is the interleaving bit? Also what is the DLM that the engineer re-set? I am still having the occasional dropout since the engineer visit. Could this be a router issue?
39 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interleaving?

Hi there,
Quote from: Olifran
What is the interleaving bit?

Interleaving is error correction, basically. If any of the data that's transmitted to you is corrupted for any reason interleaving means that it's minimised and can be recovered without the computer having to request that the corrupted data is set again from the server it got it from. It does increase ping times though, but that's usually only an issue for those who play a lot of online games.
Quote from: Olifran
Also what is the DLM that the engineer re-set?

DLM is Dynamic Line Management - basically an adaptive system at the exchange or in the case of FTTC the green box that adjusts the line to the ideal compromise of speed and stability. A slower line is more stable and less susceptible to errors, and vice versa.
Quote from: Olifran
I am still having the occasional dropout since the engineer visit. Could this be a router issue?

It's more likely that your line can't actually handle the speed it's been set to at the moment and that's why the connection is dropping. The DLM system will adjust the line though and should slow it down just enough to stop the drops, at least that's what it's meant to do. Sometimes though it's a little over zealous.
Hope that helps explain.
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Thanks that explains it pretty well. So if I keep getting put back to 35MB then it's dropping it down to 25MB. Then there is nothing I can do. It's DLM and interleaving doing their thing?  Is there any point me raising tickets if it gets below 15MB as it did recently?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving?

We need to get the the bottom of why your connection keeps dropping out, below is a graph which shows a high amount of drops:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13708740448993.png"/>
This will cause the DLM to adjust the settings on your line.
Do you notice any interference or crackling on your phone line when using it?
Highlighted
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

It seems to be dropping after the engineer had been. Never normally get drop outs. Line is not crackly. Ill do a quiet line test later. I can have 25+ MB For a few weeks/months. Then one day it will just drop down to 15ish MB. PLusnet/engineer do something then i back up again for a while. Weird.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving?

It would be worth trying a quiet line test, our faults team are investigating the dropouts you've been experiencing and will update ASAP.
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Quiet line test ok. Speed seems to have settled at around 25MB. not experienced any drop outs.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interleaving?

Not sure we've been seeing the same from our side:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13709396924014.png"/>
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Sorry should have said not that I have experienced  Smiley
Any ideas about the drops? Quiet line test seemed ok last night.
By the way can plusnet re set the DLM or is it an OR engineer that has to do it?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interleaving?

We can do it on ADSL/ADSL2+ lines but not on fibre, I'd also frankly not be willing to do it on a line that's dropping as the speed will drop a great deal in order to stabilise the line. It'd be better to raise a dropping connection fault and get that fixed as a line reset should be done anyway once that's resolved and you'll see a much better connection speed as a result.
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Hi,
What does this mean on my ticket?
GEA fail, DCN, low sync
New Fault ID 1-16401657828 in hands with BTW now
11/06/2013 11:28 - Comment added by supplier: Designing Solution
Note: Your trouble ticket has been linked with a known incident, and we are working on a resolution
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving?

The GEA is a test on your line that gives us information on your line, this has failed and indicated that there is an issue on your line which we have raised to BTW.
The DCN is referring to your drops in connection that you're experiencing, this is causing you to have a lower sync speed.
We're waiting for an update on the fault raised.
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Well the engineer came today. He thought there was a loose connection somewhere on the line. Apparently he went up the pole  Huh (was the mrs who was in for the OR engineer)
But said it was live so couldnt do anything, then he went underground. He was here for two hours and yes i guessed it,he  re-set the DLM and something about a Triage Team who are specialist in FTTC?
So for the moment i am back up to speed , however I am expecting it to drop within a few days as the engineer has not fixed anything  Roll eyes
Olifran
Grafter
Posts: 132
Registered: 21-11-2011

Re: Interleaving?

Could one of the digital care team update me?
Thanks
Chris.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving?

Hi Chris,
Our faults team will be checking over the engineer notes and following this up. There'll update you as soon as they have further news.