cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interleaving question

tomduxbury
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Interleaving question

Hi, I phoned up to have Interleaving turned off on my line two weeks ago or so, and I received an email last Wednesday saying that the order has been placed and it should be active within 24 hours.
Sadly, my line still seems to have interleaving enabled as of last night (I haven't had chance to check yet today).
Also, it seems like when I requested this change my sync dropped from about 8-9 mb to 6-7. I assume this is because my snr was adjusted in the hope that my line would remain stable with Interleaving off. My line is very stable as is and I permanently use the master socket so this isn't really necessary.
So I was wondering if you would mind checking the following:
Interleaving off and Upload uncapped (my upload is uncapped at the moment but last time I requested this I had interleaving turned on at the same time, so don't want a similar thing to happen when Interleaving is turned off)
SNR at its default value.
Thank you! Smiley
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Interleaving question

The interleaving setting for your line is set to 'off' although it is on your line.
Your line does appear to be dropping way to frequently which does concern me, are these drops initialled by yourself? We need to get to the bottom of these first.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14000642005453.png"/>
tomduxbury
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Re: Interleaving question

Hi, sorry for the delayed response.
Yeah I was restarting my router quite a bit hoping it'd resync at it's original higher sync speed or that I may reconnect on a FP profile but that didn't work!
It's been over 2 weeks now and I still have pretty high interleaved ping times, would you mind checking what's going on with that?
Could you also check why my sync speed has dropped from ~9mb to ~6mb? My upload also took a hit from around ~1mb to ~0.6mb.
"The interleaving setting for your line is set to 'off' although it is on your line." I don't quite understand this? If it's set to off how come it is on?
Thanks for looking into it for me.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,973
Thanks: 4,268
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Interleaving question

Tom,
If interleaving is being switched on, then that rather points to a problem on your line.
Could you please follow the / post the data referenced in the "speed issues" thread at the top of this forum.
Also advise is you are in the master socket, nature of any extension wiring.  Is your phone line quiet?
tomduxbury
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Re: Interleaving question

I see. I'm not home at the moment but my line is very stable and I have my router plugged into the master socket on a permanent basis.
Could you reset my profile and disabled interleaving entirely please? It's getting quite annoying as I play games most nights..
Thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Interleaving question

That's been done for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer