cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interleaving on 0r off?

harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Interleaving on 0r off?

Hi PN
rather than raise a ticket for this is it possible to check if interleaving is on. If so is it possible to turn it off? I recieved the router yesterday and now have it running and all seems to be ok
Download speedachieved during the test was - 19.87 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 21.35 Mbps
there are no drops in the time it has been connected
Uptime: 0 days, 12:23:34
Thanks
Harps1h Grin Grin
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

If you can get in to the router stats to see the number of FEC errors being logged you can tell yourself. FEC errors only happen when interleaving is ON.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Hi harps1h,
Interleaving was set to Auto, not sure whether it was being applied or not (checking what jelv says above should tell you that) but I've placed an order to remove it anyway for you - it should complete tomorrow.
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 16:03:13
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,259 / 24,200
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 132.81 / 1.21
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.3 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2.9 / 8.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.3 / 3.0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 27 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 28 / 65
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 50 / 2,706
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Looks like it's not on currently then, but being on auto means it might turn on if something happens. The order I've placed should set interleaving to off, so it won't turn itself on automatically.
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

you see this is why I like the folks at PN Towers  Wink
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

interleaving still off it would appear
sjrinfroyle
Grafter
Posts: 895
Registered: 08-05-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

It should be as Matt turned interleaving "off".
dick:quote
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

sorry Freudian slip it should read as on
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Have you started seeing FEC errors logged?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

no errors that's why I know it is not off
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

That's the wrong way round. It is off when there are no FEC errors. Matt's order will make sure it stays off.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Quote from: jelv
FEC errors only happen when interleaving is ON.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

I suspect that was just a typo  Wink
harps1h
Grafter
Posts: 142
Registered: 26-07-2011

Re: Interleaving on 0r off?

Maybe Matt can clarify