cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incredibly Slow Speed

Robert88
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎27-10-2018

Incredibly Slow Speed

I shouldnt have to post here again but whatever.

 

Internet is running at 0.2mbps and has been for 5 days now, I've had a fault ticket open for that same amount of time but apart from the usual 'replace everything and run it through the Master Socket' message I've had no reply from Plusnet at all

 

BTWholesale test give me this

Summary of Performance Test
Timestamp
Thursday 20 May 2021 | 12:27:44
Ping
707 Ms
Download
0 Mbps
Upload
0 Mbps
Summary Advanced Test

The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider.

 

and the Plusnet Router give me this

8. Noise margin: 10.9 / 29.3
9. Line attenuation: 19.6 / 38.9
10. Signal attenuation: 19.6 / 36.2

 

The last time this happened it turned out ot be that my line was banded and all Plusnet did was reset my line and removed the banding

Please just do ANYTHING Plusnet

 

I can guarantee that I'm still being charged for this week of dial up speed 'broadband'

16 REPLIES 16
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

@Robert88 From those very abridged stats, you have a major problem. In order for other Community members to help, the full Help Desk information, with personal details redacted would be helpful. Also, have you checked your land line for noise?

John
Robert88
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎27-10-2018

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

Land line is crystal clear

 

Here are some more details

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:45:37
6. Data rate: 828 / 287
7. Maximum data rate: 21215 / 3028
8. Noise margin: 10.9 / 29.3
9. Line attenuation: 19.6 / 38.9
10. Signal attenuation: 19.6 / 36.2
11. Data sent/received: 2.8 MB / 19.7 MB
12. Broadband username: ---------@plusdsl.net
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-TSFS
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-TSFS
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: a8:9a:93:2c:ee:b4
23. VPI/VCI: 0 / 38
24. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
25. Latency type: Interleaved
26. Software variant: AA
27. Boot loader: 1.0.0
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

OK. Next question - have you moved from ADSL to FTTC recently, or were you always on it?

Those SNR figures, and data rates, look very strange/worrying.

John
Robert88
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎27-10-2018

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

Nope absolutely nothing has changed with packages or anything like that, always been ADSL

 

Speed was averaging 6-7+mbps last week

Bad weather caused multiple resets

Speed is now 0,2mbps

 

This has all heppened before in almost exactly the same way, speed is good, multiple resets happen, speed becomes very poor until Plusnet resets the line

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

I'm confused - your maximum upload data rate is impossible on ADSL and you are running a Hub1.

John
Robert88
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎27-10-2018

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

The upload speed is never above 1mbps regardless of what it says anywhere

 

The Hub 1 was from Plusnet who years ago said that it would fix my slow speed (May have been the last time this happened?)

It didn't

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

OK, understand the hub situation now. I'm afraid there is little I can really suggest at the moment, but there are Help Team  members around. Hopefully one of them will be kind enough to have a look, and (hint,hint) provide a Radius Log and GEA test report.

John
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,220
Thanks: 9,865
Fixes: 1,551
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

Thanks for your post @Robert88 

I'm sorry to see you're experiencing speed issues. Our tests are showing your line's banded at a max of approx 0.2mbps but line tests aren't showing the cause for this. On the face of things I suspect it's due to the drops you've had as pictured below, but you reported the problem before those drops.

image16215212839399

I've reset your line to remove the banding, but if you get further issues we may need to look at arranging an engineer visit to investigate further. Let us know how it goes over the next day or so. 

If you're interested I've attached a copy of our testing below (from before the reset)

xDSL Status Check
Circuit ID: [redacted CBUK] Service ID: [redacted BBEU]
Telephone NO.: NA Test Executed On: 20-05-2021 15:29:28
xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status:   NTE Power Status: Unknown Bypass Status:  
 
  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 19.6 38.9
SNR Margin: 10.8 28.7
Errored Seconds: 0 0
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 43206 570058
Speed: 828 284
 
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 10208 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 8166
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 21510 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 5377
Indicative Line Quality: A Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 86400
Custom Thresholds
MTBR_RED: MTBE_RED:
MTBR_GREEN: MTBE_GREEN:

 

And the diagnostics after the reset:

Upstream Link Info

Loop Loss SNR Margin Errored Seconds Hec Errors Cell Count Speed
19.8 10.1 0 0 159737 828

 

Downstream Link Info

Loop Loss SNR Margin Errored Seconds Hec Errors Cell Count Speed
39.3 6.2 1 N/A 3623011 10720

 

Downstream BIP Interface Data

Current Line Rate Line Rate Change TimeStamp Maximum Stable Rate Recalculated Profile TimeStamp Maximum Stable Rate Fault Threshold Rate Interleaving Flag
250 19/05/2021 03:16:08 N 10/05/2021 03:39:44 10208 8166 A
From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

@Robert88 Any chance of your Help Desk tab sometime mid-morning tomorrow?

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 21,703
Thanks: 8,824
Fixes: 130
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed


@Gandalf wrote:

I've reset your line to remove the banding, ...

 

And the diagnostics after the reset:

Upstream Link Info

Loop Loss SNR Margin Errored Seconds Hec Errors Cell Count Speed
19.8 10.1 0 0 159737 828

 

Downstream Link Info

Loop Loss SNR Margin Errored Seconds Hec Errors Cell Count Speed
39.3 6.2 1 N/A 3623011 10720

 


Is that US still banded / capped?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,220
Thanks: 9,865
Fixes: 1,551
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

@Townman The upload speed's not capped because if it were it'd be at around 0.4mbps. Interleaving is enabled on the line which would likely be the reason it's stuck at about 0.8mbps. I can remove interleaving but it may cause further issues if there's an underlying issue. Let's see what @Robert88 comes back with if they have any problems with their speed now.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Robert88
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎27-10-2018

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

Almost forgot

 

Everything has been fine since the reset yesterday, no problems at all

 

 

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 1 days, 04:22:43
6. Data rate: 828 / 10722
7. Maximum data rate: 21118 / 10692
8. Noise margin: 9.9 / 5.5
9. Line attenuation: 19.8 / 39.3
10. Signal attenuation: 19.8 / 37.7
11. Data sent/received: 3.2 GB / 87.9 GB
12. Broadband username: --------@plusdsl.net
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-TSFS
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-TSFS
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: a8:9a:93:2c:ee:b4
23. VPI/VCI: 0 / 38
24. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
25. Latency type: Interleaved
26. Software variant: AA
27. Boot loader: 1.0.0
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 13,961
Thanks: 4,358
Fixes: 195
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

Looks much better - but I'm a little confused by the reported maximum upload rate - is there something suspicious there, @Gandalf ?

John
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 891
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Incredibly Slow Speed

@jab1  I wondered about that too, but it is the same in post 3. Might be a Hub1 running in an ADSL line peculiarity!