cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ISP or router to blame?

omens
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 11-12-2012

ISP or router to blame?

It's happened twice now and each time I've blamed the router (draytek 2710n).
Saturday morning, internet was fine. Around midday-ish it suddenly stopped working. The router reported that it was still connected but I couldn't access anything via computer or iphone.
Tried running a ping test and got 75% packet loss. Couldn't get tracert to run.
Rebooted the router. Nothing.
Power cycled the router. Nothing.
Left everything off for a few hours. Internet back to normal.
Struggling to work out whether it's the router to blame or whether there's an internet issue. It's only happened once before, a few months back.
Thoughts?
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Have you checked for problems at your exchange ?  -  http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/

For what it's worth, my Draytek 2710 is one of the most stable modem/routers I've ever used.
Does your 2710 have the latest firmware ?  -  http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/downloads.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: ISP or router to blame?

a better check for exchange problems is http://status.zen.co.uk/broadband/
omens
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 11-12-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Nothing to report from those two exchange checkers.
I regularly update to the latest firmware and did so after the first problem (in case it was the router).
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,847
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Quote from: omens
The router reported that it was still connected but I couldn't access anything via computer or iphone.

The iphone must have used a wireless connection to the router; how about the computer, wired or wireless?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Hi there,
I've posted a graph which shows your connection being down on Saturday:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13739011153908.png"/>
It looks ok now and there's nothing obvious that caused the disconnection.
I'd monitor your connection to see if this happens again.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,847
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Quote from: chrispurvey
I've posted a graph which shows your connection being down on Saturday:

But is that the root cause or just omens rebooting and power-cycling the router, then leaving it off for a while?
omens
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 11-12-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Quote from: ReedRichards
But is that the root cause or just omens rebooting and power-cycling the router, then leaving it off for a while?

+1. The two hour window is the same time I'd left the router off. The problem had started at midday, which shows me connected. The red/green bits show the attempts at rebooting the rooter.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,847
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: ISP or router to blame?

So could the wireless transceiver on your router have ceased to function for a while?
omens
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 11-12-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

No. I've had that happen once and there was no wifi to detect. This time, the wifi was working fine and I could log into the router wirelessly. I have a few devices that run off wifi and they were fine.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

I'd suggest running through our faults wizard and we'll run a few automated tests to see if there's any issues once you've completed the initial diagnostic questions.
omens
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 11-12-2012

Re: ISP or router to blame?

Done. Let's see what happens.