cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IPv4 fault

coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

IPv4 fault

Hi,
I'm having a lot of issues with my plusnet broadband, it keeps dropping out and failing to load pages. I'm using the supplied Technicolor TG582n router which says its connected all the time but when I do the connectivity check I get:
"  Disabled/Not OK Connectivity to IPv4 Gateway (195.166.128.185)"
I sometimes get that both DNS are down so followed a guide on here and changed the secondary DNS to one of Plusnet's primary ones. It doesn't seemed to have made any difference as I still cant get the gateway to connect. Any suggestions as to how to fix this? or is it a phone call to Plusnet
Thanks
39 REPLIES
Twills
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi Coffeequeen,
Your connection was heavily dropping over the last week and as of 21/11 the exchange has automatically reduced the speed to regain some stability. Unfortunately the speed is reduced that heavily it will make using the line a little uncomfortable so there is clearly an issue.
For now please take a look at this guide :
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/adsl-connection-troubleshooting.shtml
Ignore the video but the text will be most useful to rule out anything internal such as extension wiring or other devices connected to the line. If stability is regained your line speed will then increase. if however the internal checks do not resolve the problem you can raise a fault to our faults team here :
https://portal.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults
Hope that helps!!
Twills.
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Its been a good few weeks now, and the connection has got more reliable but it's still extremely slow. I've experimented with my setup to be 100% sure that there's nothing wrong with it. Apparently there was a problem with the local exchange last time, so I wonder if that was the reason why I was having so many disconnections.
Here are the results of a BT Wholesale preformance test:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.13 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.05 Mbps-0.25 Mbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :2.05 Mbps(DOWN-STREAM), 0.45 Mbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 0.14 Mbps
And Plusnet line speed:
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
0.2 Mb
I know that the connection was never breakneck but there's defiantly been a decline in the recent months. What can I do?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,956
Thanks: 419
Fixes: 152
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: IPv4 fault

It looks like you had a very bad drop in your sync speed on the 14th and your connection is still dropping.

I would recommend raising a fault to our faults team using the link below so we can investigate further.
http://faults,plus.net
If you have any further questions let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi Coffeequeen,
A bit late, but - a warm welcome to the forums.
CRT staff have pointed you to the fault reporter.  In addition to that there are things you can check out for yourself / tell us about so that we might assist you.
Is the phone line quiet?  Dial 17070 option 2 using a corded phone in the master socket.  If it is noisy, then report a noisy line fault to your phone provider.
Is the router plugged into the master socket?
Can you gather and post all of the information requested in the speed issues thread at the top of this forum?
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi,
Yes the line in noise free
Yes the routers plugged into the Master socket, the engineer only fitted a new mk3 master socket 2-3 weeks ago
Router stats:
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 10:57:26
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2,048
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 51.01 / 236.18
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 17.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.0 / 57.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.0 / 13.4
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 542 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 79 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,567 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 86 / 4,402
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 8 / 54
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 239

BT Speed test:
 Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.13 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.05 Mbps-0.25 Mbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :2.05 Mbps(DOWN-STREAM), 0.45 Mbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 0.14 Mbps

Current Speed Line:
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
0.2 Mb

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IPv4 fault

Grim!!
This has all the hallmarks of a long rural line on a BT only exchange in the back of beyond!
What does this - http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/adslchecker.php - say about your line?  How far are you from the exchange?  Is 21CN available?
You are on ADSL(1) modulation and I'm guessing 20CN WBC which means that it could take a while for the profiles to update to reflect the current line speeds.
Though the line is long, it ought to a bit better than it is at present, possibly as fast as 2.9Mbps.  The SNRM is higher than ideal and is indicative of a history of issues (as it the very low profile).
Given that the line is noise free, you are plugged into the master socket (are there any extensions?) then there is little more that can be done until the results of the fault report are known.
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Yes thats right
	Fixed ADSL: 	2048 kbps	(2 Mb)
DSL Max:  1000 kbps (1 Mb)
21CN WBC : Not Available

5.19 km from the exchange and 21CN is not available
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi,
I've had more problems with the line, the speed has dropped by around 100 kbps to 15 kbps. I rang up to ask about it and was told by an adviser to do 3 BT wholesale speed tests a day for a week. The speedtests have been pretty much conclusive at no more then 0.14 download speed, but I've yet to hear anything back.
Then to top it off on Friday we lost the dial tone from the phone line for about 2 days, so haven't been able to receive or make calls. I've just had the Openreach this morning and nothing was wrong with the line. Do I have to wait another whole week for the speed to pick up again?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi CoffeeQueen,
Welcome back, though sad to read that it is problem time again.  I'm not happy that the advice you have been given is correct...
Can you please repost the same data as you provided last year in reply 5 above?  And we will start again from there.  If the line synch is wrong, then there is no point doing a week of BT speed tests!
Was this issue picked up by PlusNet under some other guise back in December?  There is no CRT comment here for that period.
Is the phone line still quiet?
Kevin
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi Kevin,
Thanks, yes it never seems to leave unfortunately
Router stats
6 - Uptime:	0 days 01:56:33
7 - Data rate: 448/2816
8 - Maximum data rate: 840/2928
9 - Noise margin: 13.0/12.0
10 - Line attenuation: 29.0/56.0
12 - Data sent/received: 4.1M/17.0M

BTW Speedtest
Download Speed (Mbps): 0.12
Upload speed (Mbps): 0.34
Ping Latency(ms):95.25
Acceptable speed range(Mbps): 0.05- 0.25
IP Profile (Mbps): -0.14

Current line speed
0.2Mb

I'm not sure, I've been in contact with Plusnets telephone team since November. I know they blamed the Technicolour router for random disconnections around New Year.
It crackles from time to time, we thought it was wind related at one point but had an linesman check the pole and it was all ok.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi CoffeeQueen,
There are a number of things not right here.
1. Your current synch rate is markedly below what a 56dB line in reasonable condition should synch at - 3.4Mbps or better depending on service type 20CN or 21CN
2. The SNRM is higher than it should be indicating that the DLM is aggressively managing your line to deal with line errors (could be the sole cause of 1. above)
3. The profile figures are way below what they should be for your current synch speed, suggesting that recently your line has been running very slow and the systems are looking for stability before increasing your profile
4. The one thing that the TG routers are good at is keeping a line up, especially with the 10.2.2.B firmware.  They also give good diagnostics too, so I am surprised that it would be thought to be the cause of the disconnects
5. The problem with intermittently noisy lines is that fault location can be very difficult - all too often when the engineer is there, the fault is not present to be found...  You need to keep listening, during calls, when performance is gad, during bad weather - dial 17070 option 2
Which router are you using at the moment?  Those stats look edited (not all that the router reports) and are different to those from last year.
Is this a rural line?  Do you know how far you are from the green cabinet?
@CRT,
Can you please post a RADIUS plot for this line and the error history?  I suspect until the state of the line has been determined (and fixed), there is little point in asking for a SNRM reset / Profile fix?
Kevin
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: IPv4 fault


<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14253814318338.png"/><div style="clear:both;"></div>
I've tested the line and telephone  side of things appears to be resolved. Your sync rate is 2.8MBit, but your SNR is high and your profile is 135k. I can reset the line, but just need answers to Townman's questions first.
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi Tony,
Thank you for the prompt reply.  The radius history is horrible!
Given the fault history, which of my questions need answering before a reset?  Modem in use is just a matter of identifying what other stats might be available.  Is just biting the bullet the right approach?
Is feedback to the agent suggesting doing 3x BT speed tests beneficial?  Would that have caused the DLM to self fix?
Cheers,
Kevin
coffeequeen
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: IPv4 fault

Hi,
The new routers a Sagemcom 2704N  Plusnet, I'm guessing it's their new default router.
It's a rural line, 5.19km from the local Exchange and partially aluminium