cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP Profile reset?

Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

IP Profile reset?

Hi,
There was a fault on my line, which Openreach fixed yesterday morning. Unfortunately, my IP Profile is still 0.1mb.
Any chance Plusnet are able to get this updated/reset, or do I have to wait for a week or 2? My wife and kids moan about the poor speeds (2.5mb) at the best of times....so this is killing me!
13 REPLIES
Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

Dear god...its getting worse....
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: IP Profile reset?

This should be picked up Monday morning. You could always ring customer support? Cool
jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Re: IP Profile reset?

I had a line fault a week ago and Plusnet reset IP profile, it updated speed to max after about 72hrs
Line speed should re-train itself but you can contact support team by phone or submit a fault ticket.
HaydnExport
Grafter
Posts: 567
Registered: 23-10-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

looks like your only syncing at 0.22 mb, id reset router and try another test first.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: IP Profile reset?

Looks far from fixed to me! Going by the router stats it's syncing below where it should and the noise margin is not high.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

I did wonder. Maybe I should try Quiet Line test again when I get home this evening - it was crackling when I logged the fault, then the Openreach engineer "fixed" the fault just up the road from me, and the line was quiet when he tested it.
jim:quote
Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

Hopefully all sorted now.
another Openreach engineer arrived on Sunday afternoon. Found the fault was in another junction box about 20 yards from my house. Someone had apparently left the box open, and it was full of water and the cabling inside had corroded/worn.
No more crackling....and lets hope my internet speeds get back to normal very shortly!
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,577
Thanks: 3,850
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: IP Profile reset?

Can you please post your router stats and "current line speed" figure from the user portal on here.  Your PN profile might still need nudge.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: IP Profile reset?

He's on a 20CN exchange so subject to the up to 5 days delay for changes to the BT IP Profile.
If the line now looks stable an SNR reset is required to speed that up.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

Correct...one of the great unwashed on a 20CN exchange!
I'm not at home at the mo, so will check out the line stats this evening.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: IP Profile reset?

I've submitted an SNR Reset for you, this should sort out the IP Profile for you.
Please let us know if the problem is still evident upon checking later.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Shempz
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 14-12-2009

Re: IP Profile reset?

Thanks Chris. Broadband is now excellent (or as good as it can be considering where I live!)

Speedtest.net showing D/L of roughly 2.4mb and upload of 0.55mb
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: IP Profile reset?

Excellent Smiley
Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer