cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

m4rky
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 12-04-2013

How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Hi I have just got PlusNet Fibre Broadband with a static IP address and It all works using the supplied TG-582n router.
However I want to use my TP-Link TL-WR1043ND router instead of the Technicolor one.
I have tried to set it up as PPPoE but it doesn't connect to PlusNet.
The router has a detect option which says to use Static IP rather than PPPoE.
So I set this up with the static ip assigned to me by plusnet.
This then worked for a while until I had to reset my router to change the wireless channel and now it won't connect as either static ip or PPPoE.
Any ideas on how to set it up.
Thanks
9 REPLIES
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Cannot say I have a solution, but I have used that router with a TD-8816 configured for bridge mode on ADSL (just for "fun" and in case I go for fibre). However, I probably did exactly what you did, select PPPoE, input the username (<user>@plusdsl.net) and password, disable the secondary connection and select connect automatically. However, I do not have a static IP.
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
m4rky
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 12-04-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Yep that's what I have done.
I also set the connection timeout to 0 to make sure its always on.
Then I tried the static ip option. Entered the static ip given to me by plus net. set mask as 255.255.255.0, set gateway and dns to what the TG-582n said it was set to.
But no joy there either.
XTERMY
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 14-03-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

I have been using the TL-WR1043ND for some time. I have it connected like PeeGee said, but instead of connect automatically I have it set as connect in demand with max idle time 0. I had it like this before getting the static ip and after. You don't have to set the static ip, just make sure that wan connection type is set to PPPoE and secondary connection disabled. It should work.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Quote from: m4rky
set mask as 255.255.255.0

Is that right? It probably doesn't matter, but I'm sure the TD-8816 indicated a mask of 255.255.255.255 (cannot find it on the tg585), which would fit a single IP address allocation - but perhaps I'm confusing this with something else, such as a PPPoA connection.
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
m4rky
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 12-04-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Quote from: PeeGee
Quote from: m4rky
set mask as 255.255.255.0

Is that right? It probably doesn't matter, but I'm sure the TD-8816 indicated a mask of 255.255.255.255 (cannot find it on the tg585), which would fit a single IP address allocation - but perhaps I'm confusing this with something else, such as a PPPoA connection.

255.255.255.255 is the correct one to use for a single IP but then TL--WR1043ND doesn't allow me to enter that as a mask. 255.255.255.0 can be entered. I don't think it makes too much difference.
m4rky
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 12-04-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Another quick question for TL-WR1043ND users. Does it take a while to connect to the ISP?? The router powers on and I get WiFi but then then the WAN page just says connecting... Am I not leaving it long enoughHuh
m4rky
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 12-04-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Well I don't know what's going on now. I thought I'd give it another go and it's working today!!
I have not changed any settings.
I did notice that BT has an outage that affected PlusNet at the same time I was trying to setup the TP-Link but the problem was around Reading and I am near Manchester so can't see how that affected me!
I'll keep an eye on it. Thanks for the help/support  Smiley
For anyone else with this router the attached image shows how I set mine up.
chirpy
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 07-04-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

I use a TL-WR1043ND. I have the settings as set to defaults for PPPoE apart from setting " Connect Automatically". However, I do have to reboot the TG-582n modem first, wait for it to light up all 3 green twinklies, then reboot the TP-Link router. The WAN connection comes back up pretty quickly then.
BTW, I find the TL-WR1043ND to be excellent.
XTERMY
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 14-03-2013

Re: How to setup TP Link TL-WR1043ND router

Mine doesn't let me access the web interface (192.168.1.1) after being on for around 3 days, even that the internet is still working. So I have to reboot it to be able to access again.