cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

I am meant to be on ADSL2+ but I am only getting 1.4 MB! which really sucks to say the least, (and i though 2.5MB sucked when i had that)
how can i confirm if i am indeed on adsl2+
Link Rate is D/S 1411 U/S 728
Line Att is D/S 52.0db U/S 26.4db
Noise Margin is 9.6db u/s 7.3db
Cheers in advance
22 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Can you post the speed estimates from here http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ ?
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Thanks for the speedy reply (unlike bB lol)
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Also can someone confirm when they are going to upgrade the CAB129 i am off in Erdington, please? or point me in the right direction of a roll out plan
I have a shiny new Fibre one on the other side of the road which i am NOT connected to Sad , just taunting me and has been doing so for the past 18mths or so.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Based on your line attenuation figures, you should be getting closer to 4Mbps.
Are you connected to the master socket? Have you had any problems with disconnections?
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

No not connect to master socket, thats in the assuming that is in the lounge connected in the bedroom upstairs.
silly question for you how do i tell which is the master sock?
Yes I have had problems with disconnections
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

.
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Bedroom 1 phone socket with 5M extension lead, then in to attenuator, then router and fax connected
downstair 1 Phone socket and attenuator  with phone attached
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Will look something like this (look at the bottom of the page) - http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/speed_tips.shtml
It has a removable front plate.
I did try to see if I could find anything about your fibre rollout, but there was nothing Sad
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Ooh think i done a whopping 4MB!  plugged the router in to the phone socket directly (with attenuator) , now just have move everything around, so i dont trip over the phone cable lol
Cheers Smiley
(bedroom socket not the master one btw)
Whell thank for trying to find out about the fibre roll out for me 4 times as quick is better then nothing Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

You might not get the full speed quite yet, because your IP Profile might need to update. What is your Current Line Speed here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed ?
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Cheers will keep an eye on it over the next 5 - 10 days
duffy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 24-09-2009

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

dropped to 2375kbs  Sad  any advice andyh please?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Is that the sync rate that dropped? Did you lose connectivity?
Can you post your router stats again?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: How to confirm what lin speed you should be getting

Your SNR has crept up to just over 10db (6db Target).
Has anything been moved or been changed in your internal setup? The increase in SNR will be the reason for the drop in sync rate.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer