cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long for SNR to go down?

ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

How long for SNR to go down?

About 4 days after my BT phone fault was fixed See here. My router must have had a bad night. Woke up to find it at 10DB and tried a reboot which showed my target is now 9DB.  I didn't want to ask for an SNR reset as I had one back in January. I haven't had 1 disconnect since the reboot and am not sure if a solid 23day uptime is enough to think about trying a another reboot. Will it do it itself?

DSL Connection
Link Information:
Uptime:24 days, 9:58:00
DSL Type:G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode:Fast
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:1,144 / 6,976
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:832 / 6,976
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/GB]:0.00 / 91.18
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:15.5 / 32.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:15.0 / 8.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):22 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):1 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down):437 / 7,191
HEC Errors (Up/Down):3 / 7,780
My IP profile is now 6000. I know it's only half a meg to a meg slower but I do miss it  Embarrassed
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,890
Thanks: 129
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

I timed this after a line fault pushed up my target noise margin.  Each 3dB improvement took around 400 hours.  That was on ADSL; I suppose ADSL2+ might be different.  Each step change was spontaneous, I did not need to force it by restarting the router.
ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Thanks for your reply.
Think I will give it another week and hope it does it itself.
Hope it's not too long before we get ADSL2+ / Fibre.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Hi ID,
You have had a sync of 14 days, it would certainly be quickest to do a SNR reset on your line, as it can take roughly 72 hours after a sync to adjust without a SNR reset.
There certainly no issue from me to do a SNR reset as your line is very stable, so I can go ahead with that if you like?
Chris
ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Yes please Chris. Would appeciate that  Smiley
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

That's been done for you, this normally takes up-to 4 hours but can sometimes take up-to 24 hours.
Anything else then just let me know.
ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Hi Chris, It doesn't look like it took.
  Internet
  View more...
TypeTonguePPoA
Uptime:17 days, 4:40:41

  DSL Connection
  Link Information
Uptime:27 days, 10:52:10
DSL Type:G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode:Fast
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:1,144 / 6,976
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:832 / 6,976
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/GB]:0.00 / 98.98
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:15.5 / 32.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:15.0 / 8.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):129 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):13 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down):466 / 16,657
HEC Errors (Up/Down):15 / 64,370
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,890
Thanks: 129
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

For some reason these "resets" don't always take.  On the other hand, the last reset I asked for (via on online chat support service with Demon) happened about 5 minutes later and cut-off the conversation. 
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Hi ID,
I'd suggest doing a soft disconnect, by logging into your router, disconnecting and then reconnecting.
Let me know when you have done this, if it hasn't improved I'll have a further look for you.
Chris
ID
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Just an update. I tried the soft reboot on Tuesday with no effect. I left it over 24hrs and tried a full reboot. This did the trick  Grin Now syncing at 7872.
Cheers for all your help. Much appreciated.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

That's magic Cheesy all back up to normal then.
Any further changes let me know
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,890
Thanks: 129
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: How long for SNR to go down?

Quote from: chrispurvey
I'd suggest doing a soft disconnect, by logging into your router, disconnecting and then reconnecting.

Does this ever work?  I have never seen a soft disconnect cause a renegotiation of the rates.