cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

RedOnRed
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 16-05-2013

How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Hi,
Does anyone please know hot to change the DNS settings on the Plusnet Technicolor fibre router?
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

RedOnRed
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 16-05-2013

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Many thanks for that but none of the commands seem to enable me to remove the existing DNS entries. I can only add and remove new ones.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Are you still connected while trying to remove existing (in-use) entries?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Removing the auto generated ones isn't possible I believe
You need to add the extra ones with a higher metric
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Higher or lower (numerically) Jim?
You're probably correct - it's over 2 years since I had to telnet into my old 585V8.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

it is stated in the linked article - 10 is default so a number less than that has higher priority
RedOnRed
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 16-05-2013

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Quote from: w23
Are you still connected while trying to remove existing (in-use) entries?

Yes, I have been. Hmmm, I wonder if connectivity locks them. It would make sense I suppose.
Edit: But  having said that I have to be connected in order to remove them.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

connected to the router but the router isn't connected to the internet
RedOnRed
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 16-05-2013

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Oh I see.
Yes, the router was connected to the internet.
I've added the two DNS entries that I wanted all OK and that seems to be working fine with the metric priority set as 2. So as it stands things are now sorted thanks very much to your link and info.
The Plusnet router replaces my identical o2 one, but I have to say that although the o2 one followed a similar Telnet process it was a lot easier to apply.
dick:quote
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,122
Thanks: 157
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

Good stuff, I'll keep this in mind for when my fibre gets installed next week Smiley
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
plusmore
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-05-2013

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

I am just in the process of migrating to PN from O2 - is there any reason to use another DNS in lace of the default? I use OpenDNS at the moment - is the PN DNS slow?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: How To Change DNS Settings On The Fibre Router?

It's much slower than O2's DNS but I believe more reliable.
The following shows two methods to change the DNS resolver in the router.
http://npr.me.uk/changedns.html