cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

About an hour apart, the Home Hub 5 just rebooted itself twice, after being up for a couple of weeks(ish).
Accompanied by the following logs:
14:04:08, 23 Jan.	( 15.410000) Booting firmware 4.7.5.1.83.8.173.1.6 (Type A)
14:03:26, 23 Jan. ( 3627.460000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
14:03:25, 23 Jan. ( 3625.820000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
14:03:25, 23 Jan. ( 3625.820000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
14:03:20, 23 Jan. ( 3620.820000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds

So it looks like it was rebooted under remote control from something (perhaps the cab?)
Anyone know what the mechanism is here?  Should I be concerned?
32 REPLIES
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Looking down the log a little more, looks like it could be a new firmware on the way perhaps...  maybe we get used as guinea pigs for an hour!
11:47:22, 23 Jan.	(1036840.080000) CWMP: Download file, FileType=4, FileName=5a-​1.7-​testpackage-​package.tar.gz.aes.rsa.signed, Username=, CommandKey=1329156652

Not sure I like this "router with a mind of someone else's" malarky...
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

3 reboots now - 1,2 and 5pm. Grrr...
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎26-01-2014

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

mines done the same , yesterday went off twice , today 3 times with same error codes .
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Mine did it a total of 3 times, not done it since.
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Typical of anything BT (BT back door, bt agent? ) trying to update the modems firmware,(without you consent)
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Yup, I guess though I like having a small single box for router, modem and wifi, the loss of control is something I don't like.  I'll probably become an ex-homehub user soon.
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎26-01-2014

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Someone said its to do with line stability test or something like that as broadband was only fitted friday ?
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Yours might be but my line has been up for weeks and runs flat out, plus there were logs relating to an update of some sort around the same time, which sound like too much of a coincidence!
tomm
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎05-12-2007

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Report appeared on the register today of a potential issue with the HH5 ... http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/02/04/bt_home_hub_5_disconnection_mystery/
and the linked article on the bt care systems mirrors the error you pasted below..
https://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity-Speed-Connection/PPP-LCP-Send-Termination-Request-User-reque...
Worth keeping an eye on.
Graham21
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎23-08-2012

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

There is only one version of the BT Home Hub 5 and it's designed to be managed by BT. I'm a bit surprised to hear that the router is making contact with BT's Motive platform from outside their network. I thought that they would have limted access to BT IP address range. It could be that they are allowing Plusnet IP addresses. Will try to find out and also see if it's possible to turn this feature off.
There is a retail version of the HH4 known as the Home Hub 4r which is an unmanaged device. It can be bought from Dabs etc.
http://www.dabs.com/products/bt-home-hub-4r-94XH.html
Graham
karlos103
Grafter
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎26-01-2014

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Today i have unlocked my openreach modem and connected it to my hh5 ...so now hh5 acts as router only ....i can now see if its a line issue or hh5 issue ...so far no disconnects .
Im guessing the issue is with the firmware on the homehub 5 ....hopefully update will come soon if BT are looking into this issue ...then can remove openrreach modem
kankali
Grafter
Posts: 92
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎31-10-2011

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Graham21
Yes the home hubs get updates from BT despite being on PN. I had a HH2 and it always got the updates, and I have just swapped for HH5 which has updated.
Re: blocking these updates - well I am not sure everyone would want this - so if you do find a way of doing it you need to ensure it can be selectively applied.
Regards, David
leader
Grafter
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

Quote from: karlos103
Today i have unlocked my openreach modem and connected it to my hh5 ...so now hh5 acts as router only ....

Seems the best way to keep the dreaded dlm at bay until this issue is sorted...
( OR modem doesn't need to unlocked -just spare if other people are not confident at unlocking- although unlocked ones are always useful)
jimbof
Grafter
Posts: 348
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: Home Hub 5 just disconnected itself and reboot twice

I'm just using the HH5 as a wifi access point now.  You many be interested to know that if you use an HH5 as an access point (disabling the internal DHCP) it looks like it cannot update itself - all attempts to dial home fail according to the logs.