cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Here we go again :(

xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Here we go again :(

Hi,
Ok i need this sorting  its been going on now nearly 3 weeks ,  its definitely not the router as i have now tried 4 different ones and cant be all  bad ones, my speeds are back down  to 29mb ,  i was using my  TG589vn v3  thinking that could be the problem i set up the 582 with the bt modem  and getting similar speeds again 29mb, i then  just tried  the bt modem  my speeds went back up to 66/67mb so thinking the 582 was the problem was sent a replacement  582  speeds still sat at 29mb , in the meantime i bought myself another TG589vn v3 and my speeds are still 29mb, tried just the bt modem again and speeds back upto 66/67mb  what is going on. Sad 
28 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Here we go again :(

accidental double post removed
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

Thanks jim Smiley

Ok another test this morning no change to me this looks like am being capped at 29mb,  every test is 29mb
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

Have you tried a different ethernet cable from your modem to your router? Are the speed test's you're running when your router is connected up wired or wireless?
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

Hi chris,

Yes i have tried a different cable am on my  3rd new  one  (cat 6 ) , all tests are wired  as my desktop pc`s wireless is disabled ( on purpose by me cause i hate using wireless personal opinion) . Wireless at the minute is disabled on router till i get this sorted , so no other devices are  using it at the moment,          ( Which is causing problems at home ). I am now on my 4th router, i have bought another  tg589vn v3  as its a very stable router and wireless is much better, but again this has made no change so wasted more money. So i have now tried two 582`s  and two tg589`s  and still getting same results.
Thanks
Andy.......
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

What are your speeds over a wireless connection?
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

Hi chris,

speeds are no better and router is just  across the room.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

Are you able to try a device other than your PC?
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

i tried my spare  pc yesterday running win 7 ( wired)  and results where the same , unable to try laptop at the minute as wife has taken it with her. i have tablet i will set that up in a sec and try with that .
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

ok tried  galaxy tab 3  no idea how to transfer that result over  tablets not my thing sorry lol    result though was  download  27.71mbps   upload 19.49mbps  and ping 26  that test was down on speedtest ookla site  

*edit*  tried running btw speedtest but it needed flash and got error when trying to install it  device doesnt support it.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

Have you tried using the 589v3 on it's own; so take the BT Openreach modem out?
xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

Yes ive always used tg589vn v3  on its own as soon as i got it ,  thats was one of the reasons for getting  it was all in one.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

It might be worth checking your MTU settings - Try having a look here for MTU commands: http://npr.me.uk/telnet.html

xxandy77xx
Grafter
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎21-09-2013

Re: Here we go again :(

ok you`ll have to let me know if all looks good  Smiley

Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Here we go again :(

That looks OK.
I guess prior to 3 weeks ago all speed tests were OK? Just looking to see if anything changed at that time.