cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with broadband connection please - now 'Dirty Electricity'

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Help with broadband connection please - now 'Dirty Electricity'

Ever since I got new neighbours two doors away I have had a problem with REIN.  The normal pattern is that they switch the noise source on for about an hour before leaving for work in the morning and again for an hour or two late evening.  It adds about 4dB of noise onto my broadband signal but the effect is more severe than that figure implies.  I have tried speaking to them about this but they were unreceptive.
Now to make matters worse my target noise margin seems to be stuck at 12dB.  In hard logical terms this makes sense because it means my router never drops the connection.  But I would like to return to having the option of working at my old much higher speed when my neighbour's noise source if off.  If Plusnet care to check my log they will see that my connection had been up for around 200 hours before I manually restarted it just now.
I would be very grateful if somebody at Plusnet could look at this for me.  And is it even possible to get a REIN specialist who is prepared to turn up at 6:30am or 10:30pm to catch the problem in the act?    
11 REPLIES
davidj66
Rising Star
Posts: 628
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: Help with broadband connection please

..but if you did get a REIN "expert" there at those times,he would presumably just support your findings- if it is your neighbours who are doing "something" at those times he won't be able to make them stop!
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

You are absolutely right, the best he/she could do is knock on the door and explain the problem in an authoritative manner where my softly-softly approach failed.  But that might work.  Maybe a wrap-around choke on the power cord can help once the problem device is identified; I'm not an expert myself so I don't know.  Today it came on at 6:59 and off again at 7:20
That aside, I could still do with some help with my 12dB target noise margin. 
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,740
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Do they have broadband themselves and if so did you point out that whatever it is will almost certainly be making their own broadband slower? You might be able to turn it round by making it so that you are helping them.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

If they had identified a broadband problem and wanted to do something about it they would be best to call their local computer support engineer - which is me.  That has not happened.  Judging by the pattern of use I can only think and likely cause, I can only think it is a TV set which is switched on as 'background'; maybe the one in the bedroom even (assuming it exists).  If so the activity would not coincide with trying to use their broadband - if indeed they have fixed-line broadband. 
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Your line certainly has been stable, we can go down the REIN investigation route, but if your findings are correct as it's been mentioned it may not help.
We'd need to to raise a fault for this.
We can look at setting your SNR margin to 6dB and see if that helps?
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Thanks, Chris, I was out all day.
Let's park the REIN problem for the present and see if we can get the target SNRM set back to 6dB.  Can you do that without resetting the line into training mode?  Because the result will almost certainly be worse than the original one and I don't want to reset my FTR to a lower value than it is now if that can be avoided.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Your line is now set at 6dB, the DLM has changed your profile to 3Mb/s - 6Mb/s, this has now been changed too.
This has been done manually so your line is not in a training period, and your throughput speed should be around 8.2Mb/s, your new sync speed is 9.3Mb/s.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Thank you very much, Chris.  I mistakenly left my router switched on whilst I was away on holiday a few weeks ago.  I don't know what happened but that is when the connection seems to have got upset (even to the extent of being banded, you say).  I wonder what caused that.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

Diplomacy is not my strong point but I managed to enlist the help of a neighbour who is on good terms with my neighbour who was my prime suspect.  In co-operation we managed to identify the culprit as the TV in the bedroom, as I had suspected from the pattern of usage.
Now I need to try to fix it.  I'm wondering if a clip-on ferrite core filter would help?  Has anyone any experience of actually blocking REIN but keeping whatever electrical equipment was causing it going?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,740
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help with broadband connection please

How old is the TV? Might it still be under guarantee?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,896
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Help with broadband connection please

I went to visit my neighbour tonight.  She had two similar no-name-you-have-ever-heard-of (old) flat screen TVs, both powered by a laptop-like "transformer" unit that describes itself as a "Switching Power Adaptor" (i.e. the infamous switched mode power supply).  It is rated at 12v 5A with the output on a round plug with four pins.  Although both units appeared identical, only one seemed to give the REIN problem.  It's   from "HJC Hua Jung Comp Co. Ltd" (as shown here http://www.amazon.co.uk/HJC-HASU12FB-12v-Adapter/dp/B006CPYKLW ) .
By the way, whilst looking for information on REIN I came across the rather new-age concept of "dirty electricity" http://www.naturalnews.com/035211_dirty_electricity_myths_facts.html .   So it seems not only have I rescued my broadband, I have also saved my neighbour's health.