cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help required can't login to router

stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Help required can't login to router

Hi All,
I've just re-installed XP.
Trying to set-up a static IP and port forwarding although can't login to my router.
Can ping it fine.
Have done ipconfig /all and know i have right ip addy.
Just when i type that into my browser get windows search web site pop up which is annoying me to the point of suicide! Huh
IP is standard 192.168.1.1.
I used to be able to login to router before ireinstalled XP
Router in question is a ZyXEL prestige 600
Any help appricated.
Steve
21 REPLIES
decomplexity
Rising Star
Posts: 493
Thanks: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

What IP address is the PC's adaptor using (or it hoping for a  DHCP-allocated address) ? (The usual reason for an adaptor not being able to talk to a router is a mismatch in the network part  of their respective IP addresses or, unlikely, the respective subnet masks)
And - equally unlikely - is port 80 traffic blocked on your personal firewall over the local network ?  You could try disconnecting your router from the outside world and then switching your personal firewall off.
And since you have just reinstalled, are you by accident running two firewalls (XPs and a proprietary one)?
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

I'm not sure what you mean by adaptor.
I have closed xp's firewall and tried already to no avai.
Shall i post up the results from the ipconfig /all?
I will disconnect and see if i can see the router via the browser then!
Thanks
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

No joy, still can't see the router when the internet is disconnected.
Just tells me that it can't "open search page"
computer is not on a network!
only has AVG free additonal installed which if it has a firewall i can't find and see the settings.
Have had a look to see if port 80 is blocked and there is nothing to suggest that it is or isn't. Where would i check this out?
All help appricated!
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

post what it says for the ipconfig command.
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

Sorry, i don't know where that section is. Have had a look around and can't see a forum for it!
What else can be stopping me from seeing my router? I have turned off the windows firewall and shut down AVG what else could there be.
Please help Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

start ->run-> and enter cmd and click OK
In the DOS window type ipconfig/all
Right click on the window blue bar at the top and select edit -> select all, then right click -> edit -> copy. Then past the result here.
If your PCs IP address is in a different range to your router you won't be able to access the router.
Also in network connections, right click on Local Area connection, select properties, double click TCP/IP settings (scroll the window is necessary to see it) and ensure both IP and DNS are set to obtain automatically. The PC will then get its IP address assigned by the router.
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

Thanks for your response peter! Have made sure that the computer gets the ip's automaticallly. It was set like this already. Below is the log
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Stephen>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kingston-bae09b
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-94-B3-FF
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.33
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.159.13.49
                                            212.159.13.50
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 August 2007 20:13:09
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 24 August 2007 20:13:09
C:\Documents and Settings\Stephen>
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

That all looks correct as you are on the same subnet (192.168.1.X) as the router.
In the same DOS window try the following command:
tracert 192.168.1.1 and post what it says. You should only get one line.
Next check your hosts file
find c:\Windows\system 32\drivers\etc\hosts and edit with notepad.
It should only contain a 127.0.0.1  localhost entry after all the # comment lines.
If there is anything else, remove it and try accessing your router again.
Have you tried another browser like firefox?
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

C:\Documents and Settings\Stephen>tracert 192.168.1.1
Tracing route to 192.168.1.1 over a maximum of 30 hop
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
Trace complete.
# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97    rhino.acme.com          # source server
#      38.25.63.10    x.acme.com              # x client host
127.0.0.1      localhost

Huh Huh
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

Peter,
All those settings where as you said, no changes needed.
Possibly un related put now when i try and access the router i get page cannot be displayed as apposed tot he windows search page.
(Stupid question but i should only need to put 192.168.1.1 have tried putting http:// in front of this too)
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

I assume you can visit other websites fine?
Yes just the IP is fine.
Can you try downloading firefox and trying that. If that works then its a config setting in IE.
OK, in IE7 (assuming you have this):
1) select tools -> options, click on the connection tab and then on lan button and make sure everything is unticked.
The next bit will reset all IE settings and may remove cookies
2) On Advanced tab click on reset then close the browser, open it up and try to access the router.
3) If that fails, go to the privacy tab, select sites and remove all. Restart browser and try to access router.
4) if that fails on security tab, reset all zones. restart browser and try again.
You have rebooted both PC and router recently? If not that's the first thing to try.

stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

Right,
Can view other websites fine
Am using IE6
Will download another browser but i'm pretty sure that's not it.
have reseted all of IE settings and have rebooted computer router, left router off for a while and rebooted them both together.
Thanks for your help, this is a pretty stupid issue i know Embarrassed
stephenentecott
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 21-08-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

Have installed mozila, tried accessing router.
Unable to connect         

             
       
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Help required can't login to router

http://portal.plus.net/support/adsl/broadband_networking2.shtml
It does not have a web interface, you have to use telnet.
Is that a DOH! I here  Kiss