cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Since moving here when I eventually got live in mid December my speed which was decent, 20 Mbps+ has gone garbage and some days is down to 2 Mbps with upload of 0.2 Mbps to 0.4 Mbps.
Now considering I'm not moving nor is the modem there must be a problem somewhere, I was with the other ISP for 7 - 8 years and got 23 Mbps and 1 Mbps constantly it never changed and I've never changed anything here since moving over.
I've logged loads of speed tests at http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/ so Plus.Net should have a record of these speed changes under this name.
I've tried different filters and I'm plugged in to the master socket and I've tried by it's self, but no difference at all in speed or lack of, during all this the modem is still showing it's connected at some stupid speed like 18.5 or 20 Mbps even when actually getting 2 Mbps!
The master socket is a NTE5 one under the window in the living room.
Latest modem statistics are:
Mode: 	ADSL2+ 
Line Coding: Trellis On
Status: No Defect
Link Power State: L0

  Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB): 6.5  31.4
Attenuation (dB): 18.0  7.5
Output Power (dBm): 11.8  0.0
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 22208  1132
Rate (Kbps): 18878  443
MSGc (number of bytes in overhead channel message): 69  12
B (number of bytes in Mux Data Frame): 254  13
M (number of Mux Data Frames in FEC Data Frame): 1  1
T (Mux Data Frames over sync bytes): 2  4
R (number of check bytes in FEC Data Frame): 0  0
S (ratio of FEC over PMD Data Frame length): 0.4314  0.9912
L (number of bits in PMD Data Frame): 4729  113
D (interleaver depth): 1  1
Delay (msec): 0  0

Super Frames: 880249  3602530
Super Frame Errors: 47  0
RS Words: 0  0
RS Correctable Errors: 0  0
RS Uncorrectable Errors: 0  N/A

HEC Errors: 40  0
OCD Errors: 13  0
LCD Errors: 0  0
Total Cells: 2726919722  442910
Data Cells: 37105613  57773
Bit Errors: 0  0

Total ES: 252  0
Total SES: 0  0
Total UAS: 32  0

I've just done another speed-test on the line with the results being
15.62 Download
0.35 Upload
53.75 Ping
I've rung 17070 option 2 many times and the line is deathly quiet
My exchange is WBC on 21CN enabled and sites reckon I am 600 metres away, but when I measure it nearer 310 by road?
Many thanks for any help from anyone out there
wallzone.
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Your downstream rate should be 20960kbps based on the 18dB attenuation figure, according to http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php.
A large part of the problem, however, is the capped upstream speed.
Despite assurances to the contrary, it appears that Plusnet are still capping the upstream speed of new 21CN provides at 448kbps. There is no evidence that this is beneficial to line performance, rather, it means that "ack" packets are delayed, and the "user experience" is degraded as a result.
This needs sorting out, Plusnet!
JayG
Pro
Posts: 958
Thanks: 82
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

My DSL knowledge is insufficient to guide you towards a solution, but I have noticed that your upstream SNR is 31.4dB, which suggests there is a problem with your connection.
I'm sure someone will be along soon to help you with a diagnosis, although PlusNet do not have their own staff manning the forum on Sundays.
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Many thanks for the replies Jaggles and JayG.
Yeah something needs kicking to restart it correctly I think it's got stuck!
The variation in speeds is terrible from reasonable[ish] to garbage all sometimes within the same day, my son is cursing me for not letting him go on his PS4 as he can't connect and Mrs can't connect via iPad Facetime it just stutters and falters and gives up the ghost.
Anyway I'll check tomorrow some time.
Cheers!
wallzone.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,663
Thanks: 656
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Hi there,
Right, let's get that upstream sorted out first of all. As has been suggested you've been put on a capped upload, this shouldn't happen any more and was an error when the order was manually placed.
I'm placing an order to uncap it due to complete tomorrow.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Ok then Chris thank-you and as you say take it from there and see what happens from there speed wise and quality of line wise  Wink
wallzone.
p.s. I've reported this and got a ticket open under #97118722 if you want to look there!
Cheers!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,663
Thanks: 656
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

I noticed that ticket and left it with our faults guys, I've placed the uncap so let's revisit tomorrow and see how it's going then.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,695
Thanks: 918
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Can you confirm that you are getting those speeds when using a wired connection to the router and not WiFi?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Yes this is wired Jelv direct to the router, [not as though it makes any difference wifi is exactly same speed here!]
Thanks.
wallzone.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,509
Thanks: 518
Fixes: 195
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

The orders completed now and the upload sync is around 1191.
Your ticket is still with our Faults team and you should get a update today
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Thank-you Matthew  Smiley
Just done a speed-test on http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and it's reported that it's 14.3 Mbps, [21 max it's saying!]  down and 1 Mbps up but testing the ping it is slow at 309ms though according to http://www.broadbandspeedchecker.co.uk  Undecided
Anyway thank-you very much indeed.
wallzone.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,509
Thanks: 518
Fixes: 195
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Pings in speedtests aren't always the most accurate reflection of your ping times.
If you follow the guide below and ping a website like www.bbc.co.uk what times do you get back?
http://www.wikihow.com/Ping-an-IP-Address
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Ok Matthew here's the results then,
ping -c4 bbc.co.uk
PING bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.103) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from fmt-vip132.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.103): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=17.4 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip132.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.103): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=17.3 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip132.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.103): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=16.8 ms
64 bytes from fmt-vip132.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.103): icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=16.8 ms
--- bbc.co.uk ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 16.836/17.119/17.427/0.271 ms

So yeah I suppose it's not bad it's just the net doesn't feel responsive, it feels slow, every site I click on, even here I'll clear the cache on Firefox and then see if it's any better.
wallzone.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,509
Thanks: 518
Fixes: 195
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Those ping times are pretty good!
Do you have another device to try to see if that feels more responsive?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wallzone
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 13-11-2014

Re: Help please to attain the speed I had with my other ISP

Matthew here is from a Windows box
Quote
>ping bbc.co.uk
Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.246.103] with 32 bytes of
Reply from 212.58.246.103: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=5
Reply from 212.58.246.103: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=5
Reply from 212.58.246.103: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=5
Reply from 212.58.246.103: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=5
Ping statistics for 212.58.246.103:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% l
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 26ms

a slight difference - this box clears up after it's self every boot - the Linux one doesn't but that shouldn't make any difference I'd have thought
Cheers.
wallzone.