cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Understanding Traffic Management

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Yes, definitely.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

@godsell4
That's the long way round! see http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,113024.msg970944.html#msg970944
Edit: astrolamp, that is not what traffic management is about,  please read http://community.plus.net/blog/2012/12/21/its-unlimited-why-is-it-still-traffic-managed/ ; and please start your own thread as already suggested and please don't disrupt other peoples' threads.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Quote from: astrolamp
'Traffic Management' is simply another way of admitting that the lines/network isn't up to the job.
The old telephone lines were never designed for high frequency/high speed information.
Fibre-optic IS, but with the constant increase of video content we are even restricting ( or will be soon ) that.
So much for technology 'improving'.

I wouldn't quite say that. I would probably say that Traffic Management is beneficial to ensure that things such as Streaming and Gaming are prioritised over P2P/Usenet as Streaming is more likely to see a noticeable difference from the customers perspective.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Hi Everyone,
Ok, I have done as you requested and logged into my router.  This is what I can see:
Internet  

Connection Information
   

Uptime: 1 day, 13:02:50

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 656,97 / 9,33

Username: <snip>

Password: ********

Remember Password: Yes

IP Address: <snip>

Primary DNS: 212.159.6.10

Secondary DNS: 212.159.6.9
DSL Connection 
Link Information
   

Uptime: 6 days, 4:23:58

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 896

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 905,23 / 1,99


Is this what you wanted me to post?
Do I still need to raise a ticket?
Thanks
Pauline
  [Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  username and IP address snipped ]

paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Sorry I forgot to mention that I have twice had engineers out to look at the line and no problems could be found.
Again it was better when they left for a few days but went back to normal not long after.
Thanks
Pauline
paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Sorry jsut realised more information:
DSL Connection  
Link Information
   

Uptime: 6 days, 4:27:06

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 896

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 905,73 / 1,99

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,6 / 16,2

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,5 / 56,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14,0 / 18,5

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 83 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.560 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 791 / 39.225

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 110 / 1.097

HEC Errors (Up/Down): -10 / 1.097 / 550

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

I'm really confused as this doesn't match up with what I'm seeing on your line. I'll pop some information ona  ticket for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

It would appear that your default noise margin has been increased - at least to 15dB but possibly to 18dB - which is killing your speed
Can you describe your internal connection - are you connected via the master socket or via another socket in the house
If via another socket how difficult would it be to connect to the master socket and does it have a removable lower section like this
paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Hi,
Chris - this may be my fault as I was talking to you earlier from my daughters house?  Would this make a difference or did you test the line which is registered.  If you tested the line which is registered with Plusnet then there is definately something wrong.
Oldjim - With regards to the line, I'm connected to a brand new master socket put in by the BT engineer to try and solve the same problem the last time.  Its the same as the picture with a removable lower section.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Do you have any other telephone extensions in the house
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

I've just sent you a ticket with your lien stats that we can see, it's reference: 67064168
I tested your line on your account, I would have to agree though, it looks as though something is wrong.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Hi,
Chris - thanks.
Oldjim - yes I have one extension in the dining room with a phone plugged into it (and has a filter on it).
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Would it be possible to move the phone to the master socket or would that be too inconvenient
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

When you take the lower half off the master socket to use the test socket, does the phone in the dining room stop working?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
paulinebailey
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-03-2013

Re: Help Understanding Traffic Management

Hi,
I've taken the front off the socket and yes the phone in the dining room stopped working.
I've also moved the phone to the master socket.
I've had 2 engineers out and all wires/boxes replaced and they said they could not find a fault on the line...but I still have a super slow connection!
Thanks