cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has something just happened?

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Has something just happened?

Have we just had a dropped pipe or something like that? Because my internet connection has suddenly become more sticky than a bee hive's interior. This is what I've just received on a speed test:

…and a BBC iPlayer diagnostic test was even worse, with streaming speeds as low as 87kbps!
(For context, I'm on a 4500 IP profile.)
16 REPLIES
grahamt
Rising Star
Posts: 552
Thanks: 10
Registered: 05-04-2008

Re: Has something just happened?

Looks like there's congestion somewhere. This is what I'm getting:

Normally I'd expect a speed of around 5900 downstream.
Graham
Edit: definite problems somewhere. My router has just has two resyncs after a period of 32 days continuous DSL line uptime. Annoying. I'm now using a different gateway - pcl-ag03, which might make a difference. Probably best to wait until things get sorted.
Moominfish
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 19-03-2010

Re: Has something just happened?

I've just ran that test and got:

I'm 1032 meters from the exchange or 1.032 km/0.6 miles from the exchange so I should get a fairly decent speed, although I'm not getting as high a speed as I've been told I should get with being so close to the exchange, for the record I should be able to get 7 megabytes out of an upto 8 meg connection, my IP profile currently stands at 4000 kbps by the way according to the High Speed Connection section of the website https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

It's looking related to the THN-AG1 gateway, I've flagged this to Dave and he's taking a look now. Both Be3G and grahamt were on this gateway at the time of their posts.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

Thanks Matt, I'll sit tight and await further news. My connection has become slightly more free-flowing now; I'm getting about 1Mbps and webpage loading isn't grinding to a halt all the time. Still far from what I would normally be expecting though.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

I am on THN AG1 
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa a a a a a a  a a a  a a a  a  aa    ........
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

Quote from: Matt
I've flagged this to Dave and he's taking a look now.

Any news on this before everyone goes home for the night? I don't like browsing through treacle…
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

Problem raised and service status posted. Looks like a config issue our suppliers have put in place, they've raised a fault on it in turn. Unfortunately that means we can do nothing but wait.
http://status.plus.net
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

Thanks Matt. Perhaps I'll have to try a bit of gateway-hopping then…
mot
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: 25-02-2010

Re: Has something just happened?

I've had a slow down too - down to around 0.5mbps, usually I get around 10mbps with a matching IP profile and a sync of just over 11.
I called earlier and asked if there were any network issues (2pm or so) and was told no..
EDIT: just to add that I am also on AG1
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

it must be only one little bit
Quote
You are currently connected to the "Telehouse North, Juniper 6" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as thn-ag1.



just looked at the service status, now that the forum has been mucked up.
I am on Value and not able to use ADSL2 but my exchange is enabled
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

I would hazard a guess that it only affects 21CN customers?
B.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

agreed, but how do you know it is 21cn now it is bundled with every thing else?, but it might give then a clue
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,533
Thanks: 774
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Has something just happened?

Quote from: Barry
I would hazard a guess that it only affects 21CN customers?
B.
How did you figure that out Sherlock?
Quote
21CN Network Slowdowns (61366) - NEW
Network Capacity (ADSL2+/21CN)

Posted on: Monday 12 April 2010, 16:51
Our network engineers are currently investigating reported slow speeds from users connected on the gateway known as THN-AG1.
We have traced this issue down to a configuration change made by our suppliers. This has been raised with them and they are currently looking into any possible causes.
As soon as any more information is available we will update, however users connected to this gateway may experience slower network throughput than usual.
We're sorry for the inconvenience,
Kind Regards,
Matt Taylor
Customer Support

Roll eyes
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)