cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has my throughput been capped?

fester
Grafter

Has my throughput been capped?

My speed dropped over a month ago so I checked the router and it had resynced at ~2.4 Mbps. I use a Billion 7800DXL and it’s normally rock solid at 3.1/3.2 Mbps with a manual 1db snr tweak which gave me a throughput of roughly 2.6-2.7 Mbps. Without the tweak it synced around 2.5 Mbps which gave roughly 2 Mbps throughput. This happened for about a week last year, but it cleared by itself. I called tech support on 23rd June and found out my target SNR was set to 12db. The line was reset back to 6db and I gave it 11 days at default. No disconnects, but I noticed it dropped from 6db to 4db a few days in.
I started playing about with the router SNR settings yesterday and at 1db it was now syncing at 3.2 Mbps again, but still only giving a throughput 1.9-2.0 Mbps. I have now run tests at various settings and it seems I’m getting no more than this regardless of sync speed. See images below for samples and even though the BT test shows 2.15 Mbps it's actually never above 2 Mbps from external sources.
When I was with o2 I got 3.1 Mbps sync at default and 3.7 Mbps with the 1db tweak with this 7800DXL. It did cause a resync once or twice a week, but I had no problem with this as I was getting 3.2 Mbps (400 KB/sec) throughput. When I changed over to plusnet I put the drop in sync down to a change of equipment at the exchange or maybe a different interleaving config. It’s a long EO line and I’m happy to swap stability for speed so I would really appreciate someone taking a look. With no hope of fibre in the foreseeable future and this further drop in what is already a poor speed I’m considering something stupid like satellite bb  Cheesy