cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has my line been changed to ADSL2+

chrisjbzero
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎21-08-2007

Has my line been changed to ADSL2+

I have now received confirmation of change of account for PAYG to PlusNet Premium. I have rebooted my router and it has connected using G.992.5 as follows:
Link Information
   
Uptime: 0 days, 7:06:51

DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 13,984
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 1.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 14.5 / 30.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 6.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 870,899
CRC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 973
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 787
Information from PLusnet shows
Phone exchange:
SHENLEY CHURCH END
Estimated line speed:
7 - Checked on 2010-03-11 13:02:23
Current line speed:
21000
However the BT Speed test Shows
Download speedachieved during the test was - 7102 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 600-7150 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :13984 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 440 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 6500 Kbps
The throughput of Best Efforts (BE) classes achieved during the test is - 17.39:23.42:59.19 (SBE:NBETongueBE)

The throughput speed has not changed after switching to PlusNet Premium. I am still getting around 6M using the Plusnet speed test despite the connect speed shown above (13984) having increased.  The up-load speed has not changed at all.  Have I actually been switched on to the ADSL2 product since the BT IP profile figure still shows 6500 and the BT acceptable range does not look correct. Certainly the BT profile and the current actually download speed seem to indicate that I am not on ADSL2+
If I have not been changed to ADSL2+ could someone at PlusNet make the change please.
TIA Chris
2 REPLIES
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Has my line been changed to ADSL2+

Yes you are on ADSL2+. PN cap the upstream speed to 440kbps so you have to request the cap to be removed. As for the download speed BT should up the profile in a few hours for your sync rate of 13984kbps
chrisjbzero
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎21-08-2007

Re: Has my line been changed to ADSL2+

@Itsme -  Many thanks.  I'll be patient.