cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

pktls
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 08-07-2015

HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

Trying to configure a HG635 router for plusnet ive attempted to configure as per this link: http://npr.me.uk/hg635.html However it appears that my firmware version is differs and there are a number of options presented not seen on npr's.
Here is my current config (Ive confirmed the line is ok via the supplied plusnet router)
Key: c = checked, nc = not checked
Operating mode: DSL
Current connection type: ADSL
Enable Connection:  c
Name: Internet_ADSL
Service type: INTERNET c    TR069 nc
Connection type: IP routing(PPP)
MRU: 1492
MSS: 1452
NAT type: NAPT
Link Information
VPI/VCI: 0/38
Link modeTonguePPOA
Service type: UBR without PCR
Encapsulation mode: VCMUX
Enable DSL SRA: c
Enable VLAN: c
VLAN ID: 101
802.1p: 2
PPP Information
PPP authentication mode: Auto
PPP trigger mode:
  Always online C
  Dial manually
  Dial on demand
Internet account: XXX@plusdsl.net
Internet password: XXX
IP Information
IP protocol version: IPv4
Static DNS: NC

7 REPLIES
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

TRy something like this
EDIT dont know why my MSS is 0?? but keep your the default
2nd edit 0 = default
Highlighted
pktls
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 08-07-2015

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

Thanks, just fired it up to change the entries and it appears to have connected just fine.
So i suppose problem solved. Interesting about MSS values etc, i just copied directly from NPR
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

Quote from: pktls
Trying to configure a HG635 router for plusnet ive attempted to configure as per this link: http://npr.me.uk/hg635.html However it appears that my firmware version is differs and there are a number of options presented not seen on npr's.

Glad you've now got it working, the settings on that page are for Fibre not ADSL.
If you wish to post or PM me a screen shot of the working settings for Plusnet ADSL I will be happy to add it to the above web page.
Note
A MTU of 1500 may be slightly better for ADSL
The MSS setting of 0 (default) appears to automatically assign the correct setting (MTU - 40).
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

@npr
MTU maximum that can be set via the GUI is 1492
EDIT: Funny ifconfig returns 1500 for MTU of the 0.0.38 interface?Huh
Dunkwho
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 26-04-2016

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

I was working through these comments but the npr.me.uk website is no longer reachable and google hasn't cached the images that show the options used on the page. If anyone has a copy (or there's an alternative page) please reply.

ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

Dunkwho
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 26-04-2016

Re: HG635 config for PlusNet ADSL

Yes, thanks. My router wasn't set to PPP routing which in turn meant that the username\password fields weren't shown on the screen.