cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Hi how do I find my routers dynamic ip address if it changes when I am away from home. I have an ip cam set up that I want to check over christmas. I don't have the option to get a static ip on my account and it is probably a bit expensive to upgrade just for holiday use.
Cheers
23 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Hi crusty,
If you set yourself up with something like DynDNS then you can track your dynamic ip address but you would need to set that up from home first. If you need it now I can always PM it to you.
Jojo Smiley
crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Hi Jojo,
I have had a look and DynDNS offer a lot of services and I am confused as to which one will help me, can you elaborate a little.
Currently I am using an old unused domain (goldhillrob.com not with plusnet) that forwards to the IP address. When my router disconnects I find the new IP via www.ip-adress.com and replace it in my web page forwarding. Obviously this only works if I am at home on the same router.
I am at home now so can configure it before I go tomorrow.
Thanks
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

HI crusty,
Have a look here for the basics and here to sign up.
Jojo Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Once you've signed up you should be able to replace the web page forwarding with your DynDNS name and make the whole thing automatic.
Hopefully there will be an option in your router to specify the DynDNS login (Netgears have it), then each time your router connects it will sign in to DynDNS to register the current IP address.
The information page says software update clients are preferred to the hardware (router) ones - but I've never had a problem.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

I did this for my parents, so I could get onto their system easier.
It was nothing more than...
- A free account at DynDNS.com: http://www.dyndns.com/services/dns/dyndns/
- A free hostname (we chose one in the "homedns.org" domain, but I see this now classes as a "pro"-level domain)
- Defined the account in the Netgear router, so it informed DynDNS whenever the IP address changed.
As Jelv says, they prefer the "client" (that sends the new IP data to DynDNS) to run on a PC rather than router, but I had less problems with the router than with the PC. And of course, the router is always on, and the PC isn't.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Or do you have the option to add a static IP to your account here? Considerably less faffing if you do...
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Thanks for all the info.
I think I'm nearly there but keep getting a "registration failed" error when I try and connect my router. See screen grab
my account name is robfrost
Have I put the domain in correctly?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

All looks OK to me.
I'm guessing you're able to log into DynDNS's website using the same username and password you've entered there?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

I can log in to my account but can't see anything if I try to go to
http://robfrost.dyndns-free.com/
crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Here's a grab of my settings.
I don't mind paying for a pro account if it will work.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,149
Thanks: 555
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

I get the IP address shown on your image (91.125.*.*) if I do an nslookup on your dyndns-free domain, so it looks like the lookup is working to me.
David
crusty
Grafter
Posts: 90
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

I don't I get:
DNS server handling your query: localhost
DNS server's address: 127.0.0.1#53

** server can't find http:robfrost.dyndns-free.com: NXDOMAIN
from http://www.kloth.net/services/nslookup.php
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,366
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

You should be looking up robfrost.dyndns-free.com without the http.
Checking it here gives the correct IP as spraxyt says.
Is your IP Cam using port 80 ( the default http port ) and do you have that port forwarded on your router ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Getting router dynamic ip address when away from home

Are you trying to access the dyndns address from inside the location it's pointing to? If so that never works anyway (same as you can't access your router from inside by using your external IP address).
The DynDNS is definitely working; tracert shows you are on pcl-ag06 I think.
Has your router firewall not logged a load of attempts to get in as we've been trying it for you?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)