Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting divorced from dial-up with AOL

maranello
Pro
Fixes: 2

Getting divorced from dial-up with AOL

I am in the process of helping a referree to switch from dial-up with AOL to BBwith PN. As I have no experience of AOL I would appreciate any advice. My referree has even less knowledge than I!
My first concern regards cancelling the AOL subscription, which is paid for by monthly credit card subscription. I anticipate that finding the Cancel My Subscription page on the AOL portal will be challenging.
I would also like to remove all the AOL clutter, particularly since my referrees' laptop takes a long time to start-up.
Does anyone know how long after cancelling the account would AOL allow access to email, in order to extract address lists. Would the referrees' AOL email account be accessible without going via the dial-up route?
Anything else I should be concerned about, as I have heard whispers that an AOL divorce can be messier than the McCartney's
My other car isn't a Ferrari
11 REPLIES 11
James
Grafter

Re: Getting divorced from dial-up with AOL

Hiya,
I think that your best bet would be to give AOL a ring and ask them about their cancellation policy regarding email and billing.
Uninstalling the AOL software would be a good idea Smiley
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

I think you can just revert AOL to a pay-as-you-go account and the email stays forever at no charge.
And yes, it's a good idea to remove all the AOL stuff.
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Just a suggestion..........  write down all the email addresses in the "contact/address book" on a piece of paper, then add them to you new account with plusnet when you get it set up..... that way, you will have a "back-up" paper copy, for future reference as well.... (just in case you lose the lot when migrating from AOL)
Wink
James
Grafter

Or to save writing, take screenshots instead.
deadkenny
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Quote from: maranello