cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get the best performance from my connection?

kinginter
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-01-2010

Get the best performance from my connection?

I'm interested in trying to get the max performance from my phone line / router. Is there any tests I can do to see if something can be tweaked etc?
Netgear DGN2000
8128 / 448
When I do a speed test I got 6272 / 378
Broadband package is plusnet pro - not restricted in anyway (so they say) apart from 20gb download limit during peak hours.
What I'm really after is super low ping times for xbox live & fastest speed for downloading when I need to.
Thanks!
20 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,767
Thanks: 1,603
Fixes: 19
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

might be a good idea if you could put up some router stats for the guru`s to work on.....
SNR..... Upload/Download & synch speeds  plus Up and Down attenuation (db) readings.....  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

Do you know if you have interleaving on or off? Off would give a little more speed and lower pings if your line has few errors.
Otherwise if your IP Profile reported by the BT Speed test is 7150 and the current line speed reported by https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed is also 7150 you're getting the maximum possible speeds.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
cartman
Grafter
Posts: 136
Registered: 23-11-2009

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

your already getting the max?,  some people on here would luv to get the speed you have, if your ping is 20-30 then i wouldnt see how much more you could do.
I would be happy as it is....  Huh
kinginter
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-01-2010

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

Interleaving should be turned off at some point today according to PN
=======================================================
This is from the router status / statistics
System Up Time 11:45:59
Port           Status              TxPkts            RxPkts          Collisions          Tx B/s         Rx B/s               Up Time
WAN         PPPoA              39688            43036                  0                     221            1037                 11:45:22
LAN       10M/100M             9615              0                          0                     51                 0                      11:45:56
WLAN 11M/54M/130M      54982            39476                 0                     1126          216                    11:45:32

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 26.0 db 12.0 db
Noise Margin 6.9 db 24.0 db
=================================================================================
This is from speedtester.bt
Download speedachieved during the test was - 5703 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :8128 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 6500 Kbps
=================================================================================
I did a tracert if you need to see some ping times.
C:\Users\Chris>tracert bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.0.1
 2    24 ms    21ms      21 ms  lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
 3    34 ms    20 ms    21 ms  ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
 4    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  vl23.thn-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.20]
 5    21 ms    20 ms    20 ms  rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.25]
 6    21 ms    20 ms    21 ms  212.58.238.149
 7    21 ms    20 ms    20 ms  virtual-vip.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]
Trace complete.
====================================================================
This is for the link by jelv
Telephone number:
01754******
Phone exchange:
SKEGNESS
Estimated line speed:
8 - Checked on 2010-01-31 10:56:59
Current line speed:
6500
Hope this info helps..
PS I'm not saying that I got problems, I just want to fine tune it like a racing car Cool
thanks very much for the interest!
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

yes looks like you have interleaving on.
you should have a profile of 7150, which will give you about 6500 download.  and a better ping, if that is possible, I am not a gamer but your looks good.
how long have you been on broadband?  as it can take up to 10 days to reach full speed
HaydnExport
Grafter
Posts: 567
Registered: 23-10-2009

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

Looks to me like you have interleaving off.
kinginter
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-01-2010

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

I have been with PN 5 years & very happy until they cut me off last week for using too many GB. Anyway, thats my fault kinda. (Thanks for the help on that Pierre)
I have just changed from the Premier 1 package to the Plusnet Pro
Not sure if Interleaving is on/off yet.. I got these ping times before I asked to have it disabled.
Heres a bit of the ticket:
=========================================
Your interleaving request has been processed
Interleaving type :- Disabled
Supplier Reference :- 1-TR4U1U
Estimated completion date:- 2nd Feb
Please note interleaving is used as a form of error correction and on some occasions can cause instability of your line, if a fault is raised on your circuit then interleaving may be required to stabilise your line.
=============================================
Cheers
kinginter
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-01-2010

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

I just got a private message saying I'm wasting everyones time with pointless posts. If this is the case just let me know people.
I'm simply curious that I'm running the best I can be thats all.. This is a community forum & not technical support right?
craig_p
Grafter
Posts: 112
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

I thought that these forums were for everybody to use and as far as I can see, no post is pointless if you need to know or dont understand something. No one knows everything !!!!!!!!!!! 
Not applicable

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

That seems strange - mostly people on here are very helpful. Also, you never know if your post (and replies) are being useful to others as many people read but don't necessarily post.
Huh
kinginter
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-01-2010

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

Thanks, I'd like to know & understand the details thats all - I've been doing a bit of reading about noise margin, Line attenuation etc.. & from what I see my connection is good.
If I can learn & understand things its easier to spot / fix any issues.
Most people on here have been very helpful indeed - One member actually got me back online within 10mins when I was waiting 48hours to a replay to one of my technical support tickets
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

I suggest you report whoever sent that PM to the moderators. We all have to start somewhere and asking about fine tuning an already fairly good line which doesn't seem to be reaching it's full potential is a perfectly good question to ask.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

Quote from: kinginter
I just got a private message saying I'm wasting everyones time with pointless posts. If this is the case just let me know people.
I'm simply curious that I'm running the best I can be thats all.. This is a community forum & not technical support right?
That is totally out of order and definitely not the spirit we want to encourage on these forums.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,939
Thanks: 1,743
Fixes: 133
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Get the best performance from my connection?

I fully agree with Oldjim. That is not the sort of PM people here should be receiving and I hope kinginter is not discouraged by it.

Customer and Forum Moderator.