cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jezzerash
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 28-04-2010

Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dick:red Post edited to remove all caps as per forum rules
7 REPLIES
Stewthecue
Grafter
Posts: 95
Registered: 26-06-2009

Re: GET 150N WITH THE WNR1000v3 - CHANGE TO CHANNEL 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a) Wut?
b) Stop shouting! Besides being against most forum rules, it's extremely annoying.
Jezzerash
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 28-04-2010

Re: GET 150N WITH THE WNR1000v3 - CHANGE TO CHANNEL 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1/ Don't be a pedant.  2/ It is 'what' not 'Wut'  3/ It is most forum's rules ie. the rules belonging to a forum or fora.....did you see the irony there,  I'm dryer than a biscuit, me!
..............wuh wuh   Cheesy
Anyway, to the point of the reply:-
There are a few posts on the forum relating to peeps having 802.11n capable wireless networks but whom are only able to see 72n in wifi analysers(inSSIder)....I have discovered that by setting the channel manually to 13 it will now span the channels required to give full 150n despite there being other APs nearby, which, when channels; Auto, 1, 6 or 11 are used, will interfere with the signal and restrict the bandwidth to 72n.
Ta daa!
Almost genius level, despite not knowing forum rules and being a gramma/syntax nazi.
Jez
dick:quote
Highlighted
Stumpy21
Rising Star
Posts: 156
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-06-2011

Re: Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi
Your point is?  Undecided
54g will cope with your speed.  Wink
Derek
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No they would not the maximum speed you likely to see with 54g is 17mbps. Most users did not know the limitions of 54g until they went to fibre. The theoretical maximum speed is approximately 27mbps (54/2) but this would never be achieved.
Stumpy21
Rising Star
Posts: 156
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-06-2011

Re: Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi
@itsme
Well I use my friends Fibre Broadband, for large downloads. We quite often achieve , via speed tests and using Bitmeter monitoring, speeds of over 32 Mbps on his wireless system.
The connection on the taskbar lists the connection as - Excellent 54 Mbps. For info router is a Linksys WRT54GS
Derek
Jezzerash
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 28-04-2010

Re: Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote from: Stumpy21
Hi
Your point is?  Undecided
54g will cope with your speed.  Wink
Derek

Having read quite a bit about wireless networks it is apparent that one should only expect around half of the stated bandwidth reliably.  I am given to understand, and it is now my experience having just upgraded from 54g, that moving up to 72n would give me a significant improvement in my throughput and further improvement when I got 150n to work properly.  54g will not cope with 40mbps very well and I suggest that you will not find anything to support your claim.  Lips are sealed
Jez 
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Get 150N with the WNR1000v3 - Change to Channel 13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote from: Stumpy21
Well I use my friends Fibre Broadband, for large downloads. We quite often achieve , via speed tests and using Bitmeter monitoring, speeds of over 32 Mbps on his wireless system.

I would say a download speed of 32Mbps is impossible, are you sure that the Bitmeter is not measuring both downstream and upstream?