cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

Chinnery
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-01-2023

Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

We took the plunge last year and signed up for Sky Glass.

Initially, the service was a bit choppy, but it had "sorted itself out". 

However, the past few evenings things have been incredibly choppy, and is getting worse. My account "details" are at the end of this message.

Sky suggest a 10mb line is good enough for HD, which is was we normally stream in. We're quite rural so I don't expect ultra fast speeds, and therefore know that when watching TV not to start any large downloads from Steam or other gaming platforms. There are only 2 of us using the broadband connection, with the TV being the only heavy user, but as the following clips show, the broadband is very unstable.

https://youtu.be/zhPRvfz6snQ

https://youtu.be/CNv5b1d5VHY

https://youtu.be/67D7EgGuddc

 

So, is there a way to get faster broadband, or more stable broadband, or perhaps traffic prioritisation? 

  • Product:  Unlimited Fibre
  • Estimated Download Range:  26 - 29Mbps
  • Estimated Upload Range:  4 - 5Mbps
  • Minimum Guaranteed Speed:  23.6Mbps
  • Current Line Speed (Download):  31.2Mbps
5 REPLIES 5
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,236
Thanks: 1,020
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

@Chinnery 

This post may well be on the wrong board. If it is, one of the Mods will move it.

 

Have you checked what OR say about your line.

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Brian

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,496
Thanks: 6,627
Fixes: 1,483
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Full Fibre to Broadband 

 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,650
Thanks: 5,462
Fixes: 391
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

If your Sky Glass TV is using wireless, then try using a wired connection directly to the router and see if that improves things .

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Chinnery
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-01-2023

Re: Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

@bmc, thanks for your quick reply.

Openreach say pretty much the same as Plusnet, however slightly concerning is the "VDSL Range B Impacted" note. The bandwidth difference isn't much, but I must admit to not really understanding what this means.

 


VDSL Range A (Clean)   50.73586.232.4AvailableAvailable--
VDSL Range B (Impacted)   4932.47.95.727.4AvailableAvailable--
 
The TV is using wired.
 
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,977
Thanks: 9,578
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Full Fibre dismal speeds for streaming

@bmc 

Whilst the title says "Full Fibre" the speeds suggest FTTC so this is the right board.

 

@Chinnery 

A warm welcome to the forums.

The reported current SYNC speed is above the MGS on your line, so is a good start point and adequate for HD streaming.  However faults and interference can impact effective DATA speed, so it is worth following the standard fault checking process - first ensure that the sync speed is the best it can be, then we can turn attention to usable data speed.

Brian's guidance to check what BT says is achievable

Broadband is not going to work well if the "phone" line is not working properly.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket (ideally this should be a corded phone). The line should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below. NB: You need to put your LANDLINE NUMBER after "PHONE" [missing instruction].


 

How is your line performing?

Please post your router stats (include line speed, SNRM, uptime and if available, error counts); for PN routers use the buttons below, for other routers look at the Kitz link.

Also run a BT Wholesale speed test (ideally using an Ethernet wired PC with the WiFi turned off) then run the further diagnostics, download the .PDF report and post the results here. DO NOT REBOOT the router!

Check the Plusnet user portal for the "Current Line Speed" which is relevant to users with static IP addresses.


Is the TV connected over WiFi (2.4GHz or 5GHz)** or ethernet?

Is the router plugged into the master telephone socket?

Are there any Powerline adapters in your set up?

Is there more than one WiFi AP (note the difference between a WiFi AP connected via ethernet cable to the router and a wifi extender)

Are there any wired telephone extensions (matters not if there are or are not any connected handsets - the presence of such wiring can impact performance).

 

**My TV sometimes flips over to 2.4GHz and the performance is not optimal.

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.