cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Force9 firewall: port blocking

digital
Grafter
Posts: 94
Registered: 11-04-2007

Force9 firewall: port blocking

Is there a list of the actual ports blocked by the Force9 (Plusnet) firewall at each of the various 'advanced' stages? I need to open some ports to allow FTP access to a NAS box and access to a number of IP cameras.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

FTP access and IP camera access should not be an issue.
digital
Grafter
Posts: 94
Registered: 11-04-2007

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

Thanks, but I was looking for a list of the actual ports as I have three cameras attached and have made my own selection of ports to use...
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

I don't believe any ports are actively blocked.
digital
Grafter
Posts: 94
Registered: 11-04-2007
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

This is if you have their firewall enabled though - you'll more than likely have to disable it to get FTP and access to your cameras working.
digital
Grafter
Posts: 94
Registered: 11-04-2007

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

Have a look at the 'Low' setting at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall&firewallPage=advanced which is so unclear as to be unhelpful.
This is why I was hoping for a definitive answer from Plusnet staff...
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 968
Fixes: 81
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

Quote from: digital
Have a look at the 'Low' setting at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall&firewallPage=advanced which is so unclear as to be unhelpful.

Whilst the statement "These include..." implies otherwise, I believe that list of port numbers is exhaustive.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

digital
Grafter
Posts: 94
Registered: 11-04-2007

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

Thanks! It was the 'includes' that was the problem.
And thanks for the response in the 'other place'! A pity that there's a charge as I believe she had a static IP address before she moved house.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 968
Fixes: 81
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Force9 firewall: port blocking

Quote from: digital
And thanks for the response in the 'other place'! A pity that there's a charge as I believe she had a static IP address before she moved house.

If that's the case then feel free to forward me the account details and I'll take a look.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵