cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fluctuating Broadband Speeds

soupbowl
Hooked

Fluctuating Broadband Speeds

Hi Everyone. I'm sorry if I've postedin the wrong forum, it's my first time here!
I've been with Plusnet for around 8-9 months now and I've been pretty impressed with everything. Especially with such a human support base rather than the automated rubbish on other networks.
I've had the odd issue and slowdown now and then and I've excersized my Britishness and complained about them, and Plusnet resolved it before (not entirely sure what they did, but it worked). Except now I'm having a peculiar problem I've not encountered before.
Last night my secondary router decided to refuse connections from my new Windows 8 installation, so I replaced the router with another one I had lying around. Embarrasingly I swapped it three times when I realised the original router was fine, I hadn't configured it properly (the DHCP was overlapping the Technicolor pool). I restarted my router around 6 times last night and last night is crawled to such a slow speed I gave up the ghost and fixed it the next morning.
Next morning, correct config (one DHCP) and everything's working smoothly. Watched a bit of the old Netflix until around 7:45PM today, when suddenly everything stopped streaming. I pinged google and didn't get a response, yet my Technicolor router still claimed there was a connection. Since them it has been fluctuating, ranging from speeds of 2Mbps (the expected speed) and 500Kbps, to nothing at all. Took me 5 minutes to load up this post screen, and after it loaded everything else was fast as anything.