cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fixed Line

stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 594
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Fixed Line

Hello I am a long way from the exchange and my line SNR rises in the evening with low speed on the router Plusnet have ofered me a fixed line, someone has sugested that 2 m at the exchange would leave me with a very small amount  at my end . what would be the implications for a fixed line
  Quote " I have tested your connection and I cannot find any issues which could be causing for the speed to drop. We can place an order to hard fix your line at 2 Mb/s as the profile for your line would not change," Advice Please
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

A fixed 2M line is just that - you'd see a fixed 2M. What you might see however is a lot more errors that may reduce your overall throughput due to the retries.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,739
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

@stathe
Give me a shout if that's something you decide to go ahead with.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 594
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Thank you ,but I dont realy understand the implications of a fixed 2 m line would this enable me to have a realistic connection for skype and i player? they seem to work around a 1000. My failures are always in the evening as on the graphs I can now reboot and the routerspeed willbe fine until this evening
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 594
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

I haqve just rebooted my Router        Below this reading is the reading from before ( after evening failures )                                                              Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
DSLAM: Country: {0x0F} Vendor: {ALCB} Specific: {0x00}
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Downstream Rate Cap: 8128 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 68.4 dB
Uncancelled Echo: -13.1 dB Ok
VCXO Frequency Offset: 24.4 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 34.5 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 0.69
Delay of latency path: 4.00 ms
Training History
Downstream Upstream
Time Line Rate Max1 Max2 Max3 Mgn1 Mgn2 Attn Pwr CRCs FECs INP DLY Rate Max Mgn Attn Pwr CRCs FECs Mode Vendor State Exit Code Echo VCXO Rx Gain INC Tones
2012/01/13 10:16:00 GMT 1 2016 2020 1592 1592 6.0 6.0 68.0 16.9 0 289 0.69 4.00 448 628 12.0 31.5 11.9 0 0 G.DMT Annex A Alcatel 229/103 N/A -13.1 24.4 34.5 0
Notes:
Time Time of last update
Max1 Max. rate at start of connection
Max2 Current or final estimated max. rate
Max3 Current or final estimated max. rate without INC
Mgn1 Noise margin at start of connection
Mgn2 Current or final noise margin
State Internal training state
Exit Code Cause of retrain
INP Impulse noise protection
DLY Delay of latency path
Bitloading

Before Reboot
Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
DSLAM: Country: {0x0F} Vendor: {ALCB} Specific: {0x00} 
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Downstream Rate Cap: 8128 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 68.8 dB
Uncancelled Echo: -16.0 dB Ok
VCXO Frequency Offset: 24.9 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 34.5 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 2 Suspicious - impulse noise detected
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection:  0.67
Delay of latency path:  4.00 ms

Training History
Downstream  Upstream
Time Line  Rate Max1 Max2 Max3 Mgn1 Mgn2 Attn Pwr CRCs FECs INP DLY  Rate Max Mgn Attn Pwr CRCs FECs  Mode Vendor State Exit Code Echo VCXO Rx Gain INC Tones
2012/01/12 17:20:58 GMT 1  1792 1816 912 912 6.3 1.0 68.5 16.0 3975 51097 0.52 4.00  448 616 11.0 31.5 11.9 1706 2312  G.DMT Annex A Alcatel 230/105 ERR_SIG_INTERRUPT -12.9 24.6 34.5 0
2012/01/12 19:21:12 GMT 1  1120 1128 1316 1316 6.1 -2.0 68.5 16.2 3673 18284 0.62 4.00  448 620 11.0 31.5 11.9 949 1017  G.DMT Annex A Alcatel 230/105 ERR_LOF_LIMIT -14.0 24.3 34.5 0
2012/01/13 10:10:48 GMT 1  320 324 732 732 6.2 13.0 68.4 12.6 7 2388 0.67 4.00  448 624 11.0 31.5 11.9 28 174  G.DMT Annex A Alcatel 229/103 N/A -16.0 24.9 34.5 2

Notes:
Time Time of last update
Max1 Max. rate at start of connection
Max2 Current or final estimated max. rate
Max3 Current or final estimated max. rate without INC
Mgn1 Noise margin at start of connection
Mgn2 Current or final noise margin
State Internal training state
Exit Code Cause of retrain
INP Impulse noise protection
DLY Delay of latency path                                                               
No virus found in this message.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Hi there, it's a bit tricky to read those router stats as the formatting's been removed by pasting it into the forum. From looking at it though it looks like you've a current downstream attenuation of 68dB (which is very high) and your sync tends to stick at around 2000kb/s.
A fixed 2M connection is basically one of the first ADSL products that was released - when broadband was available in 512k, 1Mb and 2Mb speeds. Basically your downstream would be fixed at 2000Kb/s and your upstream at 256kb/s and those figures wouldn't change.
If you don't often get sync above 2000 I'd recommend going for the fixed product as you wouldn't get the slowdowns and fluctuations in speed that you've been noticing.
Hope that helps explain.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Will a fixed 2M connection be provided with an attenuation of 68?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Possibly... I'd like to say yes given the sync rate but we'd have to place the order and see.
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 594
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

What if that kept failing could I rervert if it was unusable ? as it is O.K for E mails etc now and something is better than nothing and it rarely drops during daytime and in the evening stays connected only slower
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,739
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Yes, we can place another order to change the connection back as it is now if need be.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,965
Thanks: 994
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Quote
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 2 Suspicious - impulse noise detected

That's not good. Usually indicates some external noise affecting the ADSL.
See here http://www.dslreports.com/faq/12336
From those figures it looks like the router (I assume its a 2700hgv) is struggling to maintain a synch at much above 1M during the late evening. You seem to be getting some large variations in SNR during the 24hours and without finding the underlying cause for that I'm not convinced that you will maintain a synch during the evening on a fixed 2M product.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,739
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

On second thoughts and especially after noticing your line's attenuation I'm going to strongly recommend that we don't place the order. Using 2mb at 68db attenuation would make the service practically unusable. I remember in the days before max ADSL when only fixed ADSL products were available that the threshold for 2mb was 43db so it's not even close.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
stathe
Rising Star
Posts: 594
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fixed Line

Thanks for that. It has been sugested that I ask for adsl 2 what would that entail ?? and would it be any good
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Fixed Line

With your length of line I don't think ADSL2 would be any better I'm afraid.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rodtrotter
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: Fixed Line

I had a fixed 2 mb line with one of my last ISP,s and I have a 49db and it worked fine for me